Long Crendon

Long Crendon was originally called Creodun, a Saxon word meaning Creoda's Hill, Creoda being the son of Cedric, or Cerdic, the first king of the West Saxons. A large village two miles north of Thame, it came into prominence towards the end of the 16th century with its needlemaking industry. Lacemaking likewise was one of its crafts, having been brought into Buckinghamshire villages by foreign refugees as early as the 16th century. It provided work for a large proportion of the women and girls, some of them learning even from the age of five.
Its long meandering main street, bounded at one end by the impressive 14th century grey limestone church, and at the other end by the Churchill Arms, is picturesque with its colour-washed houses and cottages, mostly of the 17th century.

Read more: Long Crendon

Education Provision 1833

Long Crendon Parish (Pop. 1,382)

Five Daily Schools (commenced since 1818),in which 50 males and 36 females are instructed at the expense of their parents.

Two Sunday Schools, in one, supported by voluntary contributions, are 45 children of both sexes, who attend the Established Church; the other appertains to Baptists, and consists of 185 children, conducted by gratuitous teachers.

ABSTRACT OF EDUCATION RETURNS, 1833.

Read more: Education Provision 1833

Notes on Long Crendon

Description of Long Crendon from J. J. Sheahan, 1861.

Register to read more...