Penn & Tylers Green

The area of the continuous villages of Penn and Tylers Green was once the centre of a flourishing tiling industry, whose products provided flooring for many local churches, and also parts of Windsor Castle and the Palace of Westminster.
Nothing of this can now been seen — apart from the odd tile fragment which villagers still might encounter while digging in the garden, and various 'dells' whence clay was dug; — even the tiles from the floor of Penn Church have been moved to the Herts County Museum at St Albans, and we are only reminded of the mediaeval tilers by the names of Tylers Green, Potters Cross and Clay Street.

Read more: Penn & Tylers Green

Knotty Green

Adjacent to Forty Green and previously known as 'Naughty Green' this village lies along the main road between Beaconsfield and Penn in Chiltern District.
Just off the main road there is a charming cricket pitch with a small recreation area adjoining for the youngsters and, in one corner, an old dew pond now fenced off, which is known to have been used for sheep dipping and reputed to have been in existence for 400 years.

Read more: Knotty Green

Forty Green

The tiny hamlet of Forty Green (originally known as 'Faulty Green') lies within the parish of Penn in Chiltern District and in 1875 consisted of only ten houses and the famous inn, The Royal Standard of England.

Read more: Forty Green

Education Provision 1833

Penn Parish (Pop. 1,103)

Two Daily Schools; one of which is endowed, but, about 5 years ago was united to the National Central School, under the present clergyman; and on that system, 40 males are taught reading, writing and arithmetic; in the other, 14 females are gratuitously instructed in reading and needle-work.

Read more: Education Provision 1833

Notes on Penn

Description of Penn from J.J. Sheahan, 1861.

Register to read more...