Pitstone

Pitstone was a very small village until the advent of the Tunnel Cement Company in the late 1940s. The company quarries chalk from land to the south west of the village and uses it in the manufacture of cement. This provided employment and more houses were soon needed to house the influx of cement workers.
The area of houses and shops which is always referred to as Pitstone is in fact Pitstone Green. Pitstone itself consists of about fifty houses grouped near Pitstone church half a mile to the south west of Pitstone Green.

Pitstone is proud to boast the oldest surviving post-mill in the country. The mill dates back to 1624, according to documentary references and has been reconstructed from the timbers of the original mill. The mill is owned by the National Trust and was restored by the local history society.

The mill stands on land owned by the Hawkins family of Pitstone Green Farm, who have farmed this land continuously since 1808. Some of the farm buildings house the Pitstone Green Farm Museum which exhibits rural and domestic bygones, farm implements and machinery and details of local history and archaeological finds.

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "The Buckinghamshire Village Book" (1987) and reproduced here with their permission

Additional information