To find other mentions of a particular parish, please use search.

Amersham Farms

A

ADAMS FARM


1739 Quit Rental                            D/BASM/2/14
    Manor of Tomlins
    Ralph Adams: Adams Farm

    Meadow adjoining House              3
    Mares Maid                                 5
    Little Meadow                              1
    Maunce                                      6
    Little Mares                               10
    Great Mares                              12
    Lower Brackley                            8
    Upper Brackley                           7
    Maunce Close                           14
    Pightle                                      1
    Down Field                               11
    Little Down                               10
    Three Upper Fields adjoining Barn close    19
    Lagger                                     3
    Two Nether Streets                    8
    Nether Leys                            13
                                                ___
                                               131

B

BARKERS FARM

1777 Court Books D/BASM/2/2
Admission of Elizabeth Frost dau of Elizabeth Moore
Messuage or tenement at Woodside in p A
5 closes of land adjoining
14 acres
late in occ Thomas Barker
1777 Court Books D/BASM/2/2
Sur: John Frost of Upper Charlotte Street p St Pancras Esq & Elizabeth h. w.
Ad: Isaac Eeles of Amersham Esq
1783 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
Owner: Isaac Eeles Esq Occ: Thos Barker £2 0s 0d
1798 Posse Comitatus Amersham Woodside
Thomas Barker jun farmer 1 horse, 1 cart
1800 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
Owner: Isaac Eeles Esq Occ: Thos Barker £2 0s 0d
1816 Rental John Marshall
For a messuage and lands at Woodside formerly Charles Moores afterwards John Frost Esq & wife and late Isaac Eeles Esq
in occ Thomas Barker
Copyhold 4d
1831 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
Owner T Marshall Esq Occ: G Saunders late Barker £2 0s 0d
1839 Tihe Award 385
Owner: Thomas Marshall Occ: Ann & Thomas Andrews
1880 O.S. Map Bakers Farm
1926 O.S. Map Barkers Farm
2000 Still standing

BARTLETTS FARM


1659 Purchased from John Reading Deeds 1473-1660 D/DR/2/32
1674 Rental Tomlins Manor
Will Sparkes for Bartlett farm £20 and being part Denterhold £25 0s
1681 D/DR/1/11
Lease of Bartletts Farm to Thomas Randall of Beaconsfield yeoman £50 p.a.

BELSONS FARM


1739 Quit Rental Wm Drake Esq: Henry Batchelor: Yearly rent £21 0 0
To a meesuage tenement or farmhouse fields closes pieces and parcells of ground hereinafter particularly mentioned:
All those three closes of meadow or pasture ground
adjoining his farmhouse 5 acres
One close called Penn Croft 2 1/2 acres
One other piece of Meadow 2 acres
One other close of arable land called Great Wide Field 3 acres
One other close called Middle Wide Field 2 acres
One other close called Little Wide Field 1 acre
All which said fields or closes contain alltogether 15 acres and a half
Belsons Farm now in the occupation of Batchelor in the Parish of Amersham
See also Woodside farm

BENDROSE FARM


1677 Jonas Harding paid 5s towards building the Baptist Meeting House
1690 22 Sept Will of Jonas Harding of Woodside the elder yeoman
1694 30 Dec Jonas Harding buried at Baptist Meeting House “he lieth at ye west end of ye house next to ye widow Naile who was buried in the same year at the beginning of it lying on the north side of him towards ye pales
1738 Rental
Jonas Harding in his possession
To lands late Mrs Bovingdon’s Joynture 3s 8d
For lands late John Bovingdon’s 2s 11d
For Lands late his father’s 5s 9d
NB These premises are charged in the quit rent roll as follows viz:
Jonas Harding the elder and Jonas harding the younger for the house wherein John Bovingdon lived and the farm at Woodside late Bovingdon’s the half year 6s 4d
Jonas Harding the elder for house and land thereto belonging late his father’s the half year 5s 9d which together for the half year 12s 1d whereof he pays as per severall old records as above is charged in the column viz: 12s 4 1/2d the hald year
1762 5 May Will of Jonas Harding the elder of Amersham gent
To son Jonas Harding
Pond Broadfield with the hedgerow there bel or adj
Middle Broadfield
Wood Broadfield
Colins Grove otherwise Hunts Field with the wood & wood ground also adj thereto
Two Hollow Fields
Grove Field with a hedgerow of wood thereto also bel or adj
6 acres of freehold land in Upper Stoney Field
9 acres of freehold land in Middle Stoney & Lower Stoney Fields
2 acres of freehold land in Bottom Close otherwise the Lagger
4 acres of freehold land in Footpath Field
Parcel of meadow ground called Turney Mead
1765 30 March Will of Jonas Harding the elder of Amersham gent proved by William Harding & John Harding sons & joint executors
1770 26 Sept Then Mrs Harding wife of Mr William Harding & Mrs Harding wife of Mr Jonas Harding were both baptised at Chesham at ye baptistry in the meeting house by Brother Caleb Cock
1783 land tax Amersham Woodside
Mr Jonas Harding Himself for Houses & Land £10 12s 0d
1793 Quit Rental
Jonas Harding one year 13s 3d
1798 Posse Comitatus Amersham Woodside
Jonas Harding farmer infirm 4 horses 3 wagons 3 carts
1800 land tax Amersham Woodside
Jonas Harding House Land and Wood £10 12s 0d
1800 Map of Beel House Mrs Harding on south west boundary BAS Maps 2
1816 Rental Sergeant, John esq
For a messuage & 40 acres of land at Woodside formerly
Mrs Bovingdon’s afterwards Jonas Harding & late Geo Freehold 6s 1d
Lawson Esq late in the occupation of the said Jonas Harding now of
For 14 acres of land at Woodside formerly the said
Mrs Bovingdon’s afterwards the said Jonas Harding’s & late Copyhold 1s 3d
the said Geo Lawson’s late in the occupation of the said
Jonas Harding now of
For other lands containing about 74 acres at Woodside formerly
John Bovingdon’s afterwards the said Jonas Harding’s & late Freehold 5s 11d
the said Geo Lawson’s late in the occupation of the said
Jonas Harding now of
1831 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
Chas Sargant Esq: Robt Toms £10 12s 0d
1831 Voters list
Jones Robert, Bendrose Farm farm and lands as joint occupier
Jones Robert jun., Bendrose Farm farm and lands as joint occupier
Sargeaunt, Charles 17 Spring Gardens London Freehold Farm Bendrose Farm
1839 Tithe Award 367 Bendrose Farm
Owner: Charles Sergeant Esq Occ: William Partridge
343 Grove Field
344 Lower Hants
345 Upper Hants
346 Middle Stoney
347 Lower Stoney
348 Lagger Field
350 Upper stoney
351 Long Field
352 Lower Hollow Field
353 Upper Hollow Field
354 Wood Broad Field
355 Middle Broad Field
356 Pond Broad Field
357 Lower Heath Field
358 Upper Heath Field
359 Upper Maudlin
211 Maudlin
361 Isle of Wight
362 Foot Path Field
363 Primrose Field
364 Pye Field
365 Great Bendrose
366 Little Bendrose
367 Homestead & orchard
368 Barn Meadow
369 Beech Meadow
370 Ley Field
175 acres
1851 Census Woodside Bendrose Farm
Jacob Hatch 57 farmer 176 acres 7 men
1903 Directory Clark, Annie (Mrs) farmer Bendrose

C

COKES FARM
 
1657 Gravestone at Cokes Farm

    Within this place lies the body of  Mr Richard Grimsdell who purchased this estate and died 1657 and his wife
    Mr Richard Grimsdell his son who died in 1716 aged 64 and Jane his wife who died in     1730 aged 86
    Mr Richard Grimsdell the only son of Mr Richard Grimsdell by Jane his wife who died in 1712 .... 4 daughters coheirs of the estate
    And of Miss Jane Grimsdell one of the coheirs of the said Mr Richard Grimsdell by Hannah his wife in memory of whom his affectionate wife hath erected this stone in 1739

1669    Answers to Archbishop Sheldon’s Questions to the Clergy concerning Non-conformists
    Jews, so called because they observe Saturday Sabbath. They meet at one Sarah     Grimsdell’s house, a widow at Woodside in this parish. One Nicholas Babb of this town     and a weaver by trade is often their preacher, and sometimes they meet at Babb’s own     house in the town. These Jews have had their meetings ever since I came hither to this     place.


1706 15 May     Marriage Settlement of Richard & Hannah Grimsdale    D/LO/1/39/2

    1) Richard Grimsdale the elder of Woodside Amersham yeoman & Jane his wife
    2) Daniel Beck of Amersham blacksmith
        Peter Loatman of Little Missenden yeoman
    3) Richard Grimsdale the younger son & heir apparnent of Richard Grimsdale the elder
        Hannah Grimsdale of Amersham widow

    Houndsfield (Amersham)                    5a
    3 closes called Ashmer Fields (Chalfont St Giles)        27a
    Five acres - 4a of Upper Harridge Downs
               1 a of Houndsfield(Chalfont St Giles)        5a
    2 closes called Doggetts (Chalfont St Giles)            16a

    Messuage called Cokes in which Richard Grimsdale the elder lives
    Orchard Field                            5a
    Long Orchard                            2 1/2a
    Oldwell                                     5a
    Barwell                                    4a
    Hatch Piece & land taken out of Lagger            14a
    Apshedge                                        6a
    Close of arable land & woodground
        formerly 2 closes & 2 hedgerow       10a
    Wafers Grove                                     4a
    Stubbs Croft                                      6a
    Cozens Croft                                      1a
    Stewards Fields & 3a of Dell Field         23a
    Cokes Field                                       7a
    Upper & Nether Foxholes                    26a
    Laggers                                             6a
    Bottom Close                                     3a
    Footpath Close                                   3a
    Maudlins                                           4a
    Next House Orchard                            2a
    Plot behind Orchard                            1a
    All in Amersham in occ Richard Grimsdale the elder
            __________________________

1712 Gravestone at Cokes Farm
    Mr Richard Grimsdell the only son of Mr Richard Grimsdell by Jane his wife who died in 1712 .... 4 daughters coheirs of the estate
    And of Miss Jane Grimsdell one of the coheirs of the said Mr Richard Grimsdell by Hannah his wife in memory of whom his affectionate wife hath erected this stone in 1739


N.B. Richard Grimsdale the younger died leaving three daughters:
    Hannah m. John Anthony of Hughenden
    Jane Grimsdale deceased
    Mary m. John Wells of Burston Bucks
    Sarah m (1) West  (2) William East

Sun Insurance 35305    13 April 1725            11936/18

Hannah Grimsdall of the Parish of Amersham widow

For her house and malthouse and other outhouses adjoining and now in the possession
    of William Healey
And One Tenement near the same Yard in the possession of Widow Pearce     £
    situate in the Town aforesaid
For the House in possession of William Healey                100
The Malt Office & outhouses                                          140
The tenement in possession of Widow Pearce                   60
                                                                               ____
                                                                                300

            ______________________________

1731 15 March Marriage settlement of John Anthony & Hannah Grimsdale D/LO/1/39/5

    1) Hannah Grimsdale of Woodside Amersham spinster one of daus & coheirs of Richard Grimsdale the younger late of Woodside Amersham deceased
    2) Walker Norwood of Uxbridge mealman
    3) John Anthony of Hughenden yeoman
            ___________________________


1739 Quit Rental    Manor of Tomlins
    Heirs of Richard Grimsdeale: in their possession
    Messuage called Cokes and lands called Stubbs Croft  Quit Rent  9s 0d

1751 30 May                                D/LO/1/39/15
    1) James Harding of Amersham yeoman
        Richard Norwood of Amersham currier
    2) John Wells of Great Marlow yeoman & Mary his wife formerly Mary Grimsdale
    3) Isaac Eeles of Amersham Esq
    1/3 part of premises

1787 20 January                            D/LO/1/39/34
    1) Richard Allen of the Bury Farm Amersham gent
    2) John Lawrence of Amersham gent
    3) Isaac Eeles late of Amersham now of Wilmington Kent Esq
    4) Kender Mason of Hatton Street p St Andrew Holborn Esq
    5) Peter Hedman Elliston of Birchin Lane City of London Esq

    Cokes Farm (See 1706)
    And part of Reeves Farm formerly Woodside Farm viz:

     a
   Little Croft  3 
   Lower Westfield  9 
   Upper Westfield  8 
   Stony Butts 18 
   Upper Stoney Hill  9 
   Lower Stoney Hill  3 37 
   Upper Pond Field  4 38 
   Lower Pond Field  3 19
   Little Reddings  3 26 
   Great Reddings  8 18 
   Piece in Turney Mead  0  7 
   Stanley Wood  9  8 
         

1824 Bryants map  Cokes farm
1831 Voters List 
    Holt, William, Woodside Farm and lands as occupier, Cokes Farm
    Mason, Henry William Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet  Freehold Farm  Cokes Farm
1839 Tithe Award 305 Cokes farm
    Owner: William Lowndes  Occ: William Campion 191 acres
1851 Census Cokes Farm Amersham Common
    William Campion 43 farmer258 acres 15 men
1903 Directort  Moore, Robert farmer
1925 V.C.H. Occupied by Mr Robert Moore.
1931 Directory Schuyler Mrs A  Cokes Farm
1939 Directory Wilcox, Mrs Herbert Cokes Farm
 
 
 
 CRABTREE FARM
 
 
1824 Bryants Map Crabtree Farm (N W Amersham Common)
1839 Tythe Award  274 Part of Loudham’s farm (On map Colemans Farm)
    Owner: Hon Charles Compton Cavendish  Occ: David Eggleton 53 acres
1851 Census Colemans farm Ann Andrews w 51 parish relief
1869 Directory Brookes, John farmer Colemans Farm

 

H

 HYRONS FARM
 
 1597  13 Oct                                D/DRD/2/123

    1) Henry Harding the elder of  Woodside yeoman
    2) Henry Harding the younger son and heir apparent husbandman

    All that his messuage or tenement called Heiroynes situate standing and being at Woodside aforesaid together with all and singular the lands tenements meadows crofts pastures feedings woods underwoods commons commodities rents reversions emoluments profits whatsoever to the said messuage or tenement belonging.... to be held of the chief lord of the fee by the serevice and rent heretofore due and of right accustomed

    Henry Harding the elder to have use of the house for life and 32s per annum

    subject to rent of 33s 4d out of two closes called Woodcrofts parcel of the premises     payable to Thomas Harding another of the sons of Henry Harding the elder

            _______________________________

1685  1 Oct

    1) John Harding of Amersham yeoman and Mary his wife
    2) Henry Morton of Chalfont St Peter yeoman

    £600

    All that messuage or tenement wherein the said John Harding now dwells called Heroynes     situate standing and being at Woodside  33 acres

    Amyats Close 2 a

            _________________________________



1738 Rental Henry Moreton
    House and land at Woodside formerly Nicholas Babbs    2s 4d
    House and land where Wm Eeles lately dwelt        5s 2d
    House and land thereunto belonging late his fathers    8s 6d


1808D/DR/2/123  Messuage or Farmhouse called Herons or Heroynes
        Eeles farmhouse now 2 cottages
        2 cottages called Babbs (earlier messuage called Holders)
        3 cottages in occ Thomas Jordan & others
        blacksmith’s shop
        freehold & copyhold land 120 acres at Woodside & elsewhere in Amersham
        from Henry Morten 1808  

        Deeds 1597-1808

1816 Rental    
    For a house and land at Woodside formerly Richard Babbs afterwards Thomas     Morten’s since Henry Morten’s and late the said T D T Drake heretofore in the occupation of the said Henry Morten and now of John Craft        4s 8d

    For another house and other lands at Woodside formerly the said Thomas Morten’s     afterwards the said Henry morten’s and late the said T D T Drakes heretofore in the      occupation of Wm Eeles  late of the said Henry Morten and now of the said John Craft and his undertenants            Part Copyhold        10s 4d

    For another house and other lands at Woodside formerly the said Thos Morten’s     afterwards the said Henry Morten’s and late the said T D T Drake’s heretofore in the     occupation of the said Henry Morten and now of the said John Craft and his undertenants                            17s 0d

    For a house and orchard aAmersham common formerly Joseph Preston’s afterwards John     Andrew’s since the said Henry morten’s and late the said T D T Drakes heretofore in the  occupation of  now of  Copyhold    1s 8d
    
1824 Bryants Map  Irons Farm
1839 Tithe Award Heroynes Farm 271 acres
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: James Williams
 10 Ten Acres  arable  10 15 
 63  Lower Seven Acres  arable  6 2 15
 64   Seven Acres  arable  7 26 
 68  Further Redding  arable  12  0 33 
 69  Baldwin’s Field  arable  14  1  16
 70  Hither Redding   arable  12  2  8
 71  Little Windmill Field  arable  4  1  9
 72  Great windmill Field  arable  15  5
 73  Germans  arable  10 0 34 
 74  Sandpit Field  arable  10 22 
 75  Corner Field  arable   9 38 
 76  Water Shot Field  arable  11 35 
 77  Twelve Acres  arable  12 14 
 78  May Plot  arable   4 2 13 
 100  Bottom Field  arable  11 20 
 101  Lower Field  arable   6 18 
 103  Little Stanley  arable   7 0 33 
 105  Lower Long Field  arable  8 31 
 106  Black Acre  arable  11 26 
 107  Grubbed Ground  arable  9
 108  Long Croft       arable  6  1  36
 109  Little Top Lane Field  arable  3  3  14
 113  Orchard Croft    arable  3  2  22
 114  Eeles Homestread & meadow  grass  2  2  25
 115  Shepherds Close  grass  5  1  12
 116  Lower Mead  grass  2  2  3
 117  Homestead & Orchard  grass  4  3  17
 118  Askew Wood Field  arable  7  2  7
 119  Meadow Field  arable  5  2  3
 120  Great Top Lane Field  arable  4 35 
 121  Six Acres  arable  6 25 
 123  Bachelors Wood Field  arable  9 34 
 138  Belsons Homestead & Orchard  grass  4
 159  Belsons Close  arable  2 2 16 
 167  Belsons Meadow  grass  9 1  15
 168  Allotment  grass  19 3  34
 199  Souths Allotment  arable  17  26
 214  Holdens Close  arable  5 3  2
 220  Warners  arable  5  3 33 
 221  Little Bates  arable  2 3 23 
 222  Burying Ground  grass  1 14 
 223  Briery Field  arable  10 15 
       ---- -- ---
       352  1  9
         

1851 Census  Herons Farm
    James Williams 56 Farmer 358 acres 14 labourers
1883 Directory Williams, George Herons Farm
1903 Directory  Payne, John farmer Hyrons Farm
1910 Valuation
    Owner: W W Drake  Occ: Frank Lisley        105 acres
    Owner: W W Drake Occ: Shardeloes Estate
                Parkfield Estate part sold 33 acres
1911 Directory
    Lisley, Frank farmer Hyrons Farm
 

L

 LOWER BOTTOM HOUSE FARM


1739 Quit Rental
    
    Wm Drake Esq: Thomas Hill Yearly Rent £55 0s 0d
    Meassuage tenement or farmhouse called or known by the name of Bottom Fram
    Stockbury Meadow              3
    Dell Field                         12
    Long Platt                         1
    Stable Croft                      5
    Six Acres                          6
    Three acres                      3
    Five Acres                         5
    Nine Acres                        9
    Orchard Platt                    1
    Apple Tree Field               7
    Lotts Field                        8
    Stoney Dell                      9
    Mares                             7
    Wooffield                       14
    Widefield                        15
    Holy Croft                       16
    Upper Wagdens                7
    Middle Wagdens               9
    Great Wagdens               16
    Durgins Hill                     12
                                       ___
                                       165

1777 Rental Bottom Farm  Mr Harvey  £59 10s  173 acres
        Whelpleys Farms Mr Harvey £121 0s    96 acres
        Stockings Farm Mr Harvey        164 acres
1831 Voters List Coates, Alfred Farm and lands as occupier Lower Bottom Farm
1839 Tithe Award 869  Bottom & Whelpleys Farm
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: Alfred Coates
1851 Census Thomas Gurney 40 Farmer 300 acres 15 men
1903 Directory Williamson, Thomas farmer Bottom House Farm

M

 MANTLES GREEN FARM
 1903 Directory Butler, Thomas Bailiff to Capt Thomas Henry Tyrwhitt Drake Mantles Green Farm
 
 MOODY'S FARM
1762 Will of Jonas Harding the elder of Amersham gent proved 30 March 1765

    To son John Harding

    All that my messuage or tenement wherein I now dwell situate and being in the parish of     Amersham aforesaid together with the four orchards and four closes of land thereto     belonging with half an acre of wood and wood ground be the same more or less lying and     being in a certain wood called Stanley Wood and all other outhouses buildings barns stables     yards gardens other orchards backsides hedges ditches trees mounds fences .......

1772    `                            D/BASM/2/2
    Sur: Joseph Hill of Woodside Amersham yeoman
    Ad: John Harding of Amersham gent & Mary his wife

    Wilmotts in occ John Harding

1779     Church Book of Amersham
    The new Meeting House was built by John Harding at his own expense and finished at     Christmas 1779
1783 Land Tax
    Mr John Harding: himself for house & land    £4 6s 0d
    ditto        himself for house & land    £3 4s 9d   
            Samuel Hunt                 6s 0d
1791 July Church Book of Amersham
    John Harding put up the fence against arbour field
1797 25 April    Church Book of Amersham
    25 April Death of John Harding of Amersham Common
1797 PCC Will John Harding of Amersham gent
1800 Land Tax
    Mrs Harding: house & land    £4 6s 0d
    ditto        late Hills    £3 4s 9d   
            late Hunt’s         6s 0d
1815 Enclosure Map
    141-3 T M Moody
1831 Land Tax
    Mrs Moody: G Saunders        £4 6s 0d

1839 Tithe Award
    Owner:John Goater & Henry Nicholes Trustees of Ann Heather
    Occupier: James Dyer

    414 Long Field                     arable    3  1  35
    415 Further Field                  arable    2  0  12
    416 Great Field                    arable    3  3  10
    417 Orchard                        grass      2  1  19
    418 Homestead & Orchard    Grass     2  1  38
    419 Common Field              Arable    2  1   8
    420 Allotment                     Grass     2  0  26

1871 Census Moody’s Farm
    Richard Ball  farmer 17 1/2 acres
1881 Census Moody’s Farm
    Richard Ball 58 farmer of 20 acres
1891 Census Moody’s Farm
    Richard Ball 70 farmer
1907 Directory Motion, Sydney  The Common
1910 Valuation 734
    Motion S.H.: Motion S.H. Stanley Wood House
1911 Directory Motion, Sydney H Stanley Wood House The Common
1912 RCHM Stanley Wood House
1915 Directory Motion, Sydney H Stanley Wood House The Common
1920 Directory
    ? Rendle H.C. Little Reeves White Lion Road
1924 Directory
    ? Rendle H.C. Little Reeves White Lion Road
1925 O.S. Map House still there
1931 Directory
    ? Rendle H.C. Little Reeves White Lion Road
Little Reeves Avenure built on site
 
 

Q

QUARRENDON FARM
 1739 Quit Rental                        D/BASM/2/14

    Wm Drake Esq: Jos Anthony
    Quarrendon Farm Manor of Tomlins

    Meadow adj farmhouse                                       2
    Cowpasture adj Gore Hill                                    16
    Gutter grove adj do                                             2
    Broad Close adj Mouldy Close                             14
    Mouldy close adj Great Grove    Field                    16
    Little Grove Field abutting on Puddiford Lane        10
    Great Grove Field abutting do                              22
    Quarrendon pightle  adj Great grove Field              7
    Little Quarrendon adj Widmer Field                       6
    Great Quarrendon                                             12
    Widmer Field adj Upper Deadly Grove                  16
    Upper Deadly Grove adj Cozens Croft                  11
    Lowes do adj Turney Mead                                   8
    Cozens Croft adj Home Field                              16
    Little Home Field                                               10
    Great Home Field adj Great Hurdle Croft              14
    Little Hurdle Croft adj do                                   10
    Great Hurdle Croft adj Little do                           14
    Great Tomlins adj Little Tomlins                         14
    Little Tomlins adjBryery Close                              6
    Bryery Close abutting Puddefords Lane                 6
    Turney Mead                                                     4
                                                                        ___
                                                                       236



1777 Rental Quarrendon Farm  J Anthony  £79  277 acres

Sun Insurance 416385  13 July 1779                11936/274

Henry Anthony of Quarrendeon Farm in the parish of Amersham in Bucks     £
On his household goods in his now dwellinghouse situate as aforesaid      70
Wearing apparel                                                                       30
Utensils & stock Viz: Wheat Barn, Cowhouse & Offices adjoining
    timber & tiled                                                                      100
In the Barley Barn & Offices under one roof timber & tiled              80
In a Stable & Granary under one roof timber & tiled                      80
In a Barn & Carthouse thatched                                                  20
In the Rick Yard                                                                       80
                                                                                             ____
                                                                                            460


1779 Sun Insurance 408781  22 Jan 1779                11936/271

Richard Lee & Edward Smith of Amersham in Bucks waggoners        £

On utensils & stock & goods in trust Viz: in their Warehouse only in the Kings Arms
    Inn Yard at Holborn Bridge brick & timber                       100
For their Stables only adjoining                                         150
In the said Yard only                                                       350
In their Stables only adjoining at Amersham aforesaid         250
For their Barn at Collingwood Yard at Amersahm                   50
                                                                                   ____
                                                                                    900
                _________________

1783 Land Tax  Amersham Woodside
    Owner: Wm Drake  Occ: Lee & Smith late Anthony  £8  14s 6d
1798 Posse Comitatus Amersham Woodside
    Richard Lee farmer  lame  12 horses, 3 wagons 5 carts
    Richard Lee jun farmer
1800 Land tax Amersham Woodside
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: Messrs Lee & Smith  £10 10s 6d
1851 Census Quarrendon Farm
    Philip Goddard 43 farmer 380 acres 31 men
1903 Directory  Brown, John farmer Quarrendon Farm
 

 

R

 REEVES FARM

 1731    Sur: Timothy Harding sen of Woodside p Amersham yeoman & Elizabeth h. w.
            Timothy Harding his son
    Ad: Ann Mellor of Chenies

All that Messuage with appurts called Reeves with 25 acres of arable land and pasture late     in ten of said Timothy Harding and Ralph Belch situate & being in Woodside p Amersham
            _____________________________
1755                                    D/BASM/2/1
    Sur: Ann Mellor of Chenies widow
    Ad: Isaac Eeles of Amersham Esq

    All that Messuage with appurtenances called Reeves
    35 acres in occ said Ann Mellor and Joseph Saunders
            ___________________________
1763    Admission of Isaac Eeles on death of Isaac Eeles of Amersham Esq his father
            ___________________________

1783 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
    Owner: Isaac Eeles:  Joseph Saunders jun £8 6s

1787 20 January                            D/LO/1/39/34

    1) Richard Allen of the Bury Farm Amersham gent
    2) John Lawrence of Amersham gent
    3) Isaac Eeles late of Amersham now of Wilmington Kent Esq
    4) Kender Mason of Hatton Street p St Andrew Holborn Esq
    5) Peter Hedman Elliston of Birchin Lane City of London Esq

    Cokes Farm (See 1706)
    And part of Reeves Farm formerly Woodside Farm viz:
   

   
Little Croft    0  3
Lower Westfield   2  1  9
Upper Westfield    2  8
Stony Butts    1  18
Upper Stoney Hill    0  9
Lower Stoney Hill    3  37
Upper Pond Field    0  38
Lower Pond Field   3  19
Little Reddings   3  26
Great Reddings   8  18
Piece in Turney Mead   0   7
Stanley Wood   9   8

                           
1800  Land Tax  Amersham Woodside
    Owner: H Pomroy Mason Esq: Joseph Saunders £8 6s
1820 D/DR/2/144 125 1/2 acres  in Amersham
    2 cottages at Woodside
    copyhold messuage called Reeves and land belonging
    All formerly the estate of Kender Mason
    Deeds 1728-1820  Plan on deed 1820
    From William Henry Pomeroy formerly Mason and others
1824 Bryants Map  Reeves Farm
1839 Tithe Award 408 Reeves Farm
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: James Rogers

 406  Hog Pond Field  arable 1 19 
 407  Elm Field  grass 3 22 
 408  Homestead & Orchard  grass
 409  Orchard Field  arable 22 
 410  Ley Field  arable
 411  Long Field  arable 21 
 412  Long Field Butts  arable
 413  Grove Field  arable 19 5
 422  Mote field  arable 12  2
 423  Lime Field  arable    8  2 28
 424  Stoney Dean  arable    9  1  0
 425  Stoney Butts  arable  15  0  14
 426  China Croft  arable    5  0  15
 428  Upper Old Lands  arable    7  2  29
 429  Lagger  arable    8  3  28
      ---- -- ---
      118   2  12


1851 Census James Rogers Farmer 200 acres  12 men
1861 Census Reeves Farm Cottage Thomas Preen 61 farm labourer
1871 Census Reeves Farm Elizabeth Preen 72
1891 Census Reeves farm
    George Hill 34 butter dealer
    Daniel Harding 60 farm bailiff
1912 RCHM Photo

S

    STOCKINGS FARM

1637                                    D/DRD/2/22
    1) Rt Hon Francis Earl of Bedford
        Rt Hon Sir William Russell Kt son & heir apparent
    2) William Drake of Shardeloes Amersham Esq

    Conveyance of Manor of Amersham including
    Stockings farm in occ Walter son of Henry Tredway gent deceased leased to the said     Henry by Edward Earl of Bedford 15 May 16 James I for 90 years or lives of the said     Walter Tredway Daniel Readinge and Henry Wyngfield at £9 p.a.

1692 Ledger  Edward Babb  Stocking Farm in Coleshill Hamlet £50 p.a.

1694 Deeds D/DRD/2/42

1777 Rental Bottom Farm  Mr Harvey  £59 10s  173 acres
        Whelpleys Farms Mr Harvey £121 0s    96 acres
        Stockings Farm Mr Harvey        164 acres

T


TOMLINS FARM


1605 Deeds to manor of Tomlins D/DRD/2/31
1657 Tomlins manor bought from Richard Stydolf (VCH)
1674 Rental  
    Bought of Treadway  Tomlins Manor
    Ralph Trumper for Tomlins Farm  £34  8s
    James Ball for ye Denterhold lands £11 10s
    Will Sparkes for Bartlett farm £20 and being part Denterhold £25 0s
    Jo Day for part of ye Denterhold lands a barnett & a peece of ground £17 0s
    Mr Robert Styles for Whelpley Farm by lease    £13 10s

TOWN FARM


1692 Ledger    John Charsley    
    House & backside adjoining to the almshouses & a close called Mill Platt  £5 p.a.
1698 Rent Book                        D/DR/2/18
    John Charsley 1/4 years rent for his house & orchard near the Almshouses £2 10s 0d
1723 Rental                            D/DR/2/26
    John Charsley for house & meadow £8 0 0
1739 Rental
    Wm Drake Esq: Mr Squire for a house and an orchard 1 acre Yearly rent £6 0 0
    Wm Drake Esq; Almshouses
    Stephen Squire:  Thos Woodbridge     for a house        )
              Step How        ditto            )    5 1/2d
              Martha Humphrey    ditto            )
              Daniel Leared        for part of Pratts    )
1742 Map 81-4 Step Squire [Cottages east of almshouses]
1744 19 March  Will of Stephen Squire the elder of Amersham carpenter
    Leaves to son Stephen Squire
    Messuage or Tenement farm lands and estate called Nightingales in the Parish of Penn
    Four several messuages cottages or tenements situate and being in Amersham aforesaid     and now in the several tenures or occupations of Thomas Rayment William Cooper     Thomas Hentin and Henry Woodbridge

    Leaves to wife Hannah for life then to son Stephen
    Messuage cottage or tenement situate and being in Wielden Street in Amersham     aforesaid now in the tenure or occupation of James Nash cordwainer
    Proved 25 Jan 1759

1745 Rental                            D/BASM/2/16
    Wm Drake Esq: Mr Squire: for a house
    ditto          Almshouses
    Steph Squire:       Hen Woodbridge    )
              Thos Henting        )    4 tenements
              Wm Cooper        )
              Thos Rayment    )

1756 8 May Bap Stephen son Stephen & Mary Squire
1757 30 Sept  Bap Thomas son Stephen & Mary Squire  
1759 9 Jan Burial of Stephen Squire carpenter
1765 Window Tax Mr Stephen Squier 13 windows
1773 10 July Burial of Stephen Squire

1783 31 Jan                            D/DRD/2/116
    1) Thomas Squire late of Cupids Bridge Lambeth now Cornet of HM Troop of Horse     Guards only brother & heir of Stephen Squire of Amersham a minor deceased and also     one of the sons of StephenSquire the younger who was eldest son of Stephen Squire the     elder who was the only son and heir of Stephen Squire of Amersham carpenter
    2) William Weller the elder of Amersham brewer

    [Sale of cottages to east of Almshouses]

1783    Land Tax
    Wm Drake Esq: Thomas Plaistowe for Platt late Squires    4s 0d
1816 Rental
    T T Drake For three houses in the High Street near the Amshouses formerly Thomas     Squires afterwards William Weller & late the said T D T Drakes in the occ Thomas     Shrimpton   Hawkins and Thos Whitmell [cottages to east of Almshouses]

1839 Tithe Award 556
    Owner T T Drake  Occ: Sarah Trone    Houses yard & garden
                John Earle

    554 Town Farm
    Owner T T Drake  Occ: John Earle
    554 Homestead & orchard        grass    0  3    17
    575 Upper Round Dell             arable   6   0   37
    576 Lower Round Dell             arable    3   3  25
    578 Child Lane Meadow          grass     9   0   9
    588 Little Wood Field              arable   2   1   9
    589 Baldwins Field                 arable    11  2  21
    590 Pipers Close                   arable    7   0   34
    593 Giles Field                      arable    7   2   9
    594 Eeles Homestead & close arable    1   1   28
    720 Deep Dean                    arable     9   2  7
    573 Great Round Dell            arable    10  2  32
                                                          __________
                                                           74  3  27

1841 Census [next to Almshouses]
    John Earle 35 farmer
1851 Census William Salter 36 farmer 108a 7 men
1881 Census Mary Williams 55 brazier & cow ....
        Frederick P Williams son 17 builder’s apprentice
1891 Directory Williams Mary (Mrs) brazier High Street
1891 Census Mary Williams 65 farmer
1899 Directory Williams, M & Sons agricultural implement repairers & general plumbers High     Street
1910 Valuation
    Drake, W W T: Hoare, A.P. Hoare  Town Farm
                        Land    37a 1r 37p
1911 Directory Goare, Alfred dairy High Street
1912 RCHM 28
    House, probably formerly an inn, now two cottages, adjoining 27 {Swan Inn], is of two     storeys and an attic, built in the 17th century and altered in the 18th century. The front is     of red brick with black headers, and has a large covered gateway, inserted or made     higher in the 18th century.
1931 Hoare, Alfred farmer Town Farm
1935 Directory Barret, John farmer Town Farm
1939 Directory Hine, Sidney Victor Town Farm High Street
1952 Directory Town Farm Palmer, E. H.

U

 UPPER BOTTOM FARM


1763                                    D/BASM 2/1
    Admission of David Ball on death of Henry Ball
    Bottom House parish of Amersham county of Herts late in the occupation of Henry Ball     now of David Ball his son

1765                                    D/BASM/2/1
    Presented Death of Mrs Duncombe held freely farm and lands called Bottom Farm in     the occ of Widow Carter
    Yearly rent of £1 8s 3d

1788    D/DR/2/102  Copyhold messuage called Bottom House in Amersham Herts from Robert     Welch 1788  Deeds 1603-1788

1816    Rental  John Grove
    For a Messuage and certain lands thereunto belonging called Bottom Farm formerly     Henry Childs afterwards Mrs Duncombe’s and late John Gaunt Esq hereto in occ Henry     carter late John Curtis now of George Grove

1839    Tithe Award  860-66 etc
    Owner: John Grove Esq  Occ: William Wilson

    860    Five Acres
    861    High Field
    862    Dell Field
    863    Bottom Plot
    864    Homestead and Orchard
    865    Apple Tree Field
    866    Cherry Tree Close
    878    Bow Field
    880    Little Sands
    881    Great Sands
    885    Old Road
    886    Lower Ashwell
    887     Penn Wood Field
    888    Penn Field
    895     Middle Ashwell
    896    Lower Doggetts
    898    Little Doggetts
    899     Upper Ashwell
    900     Two Acres
    901)
    902)    Cottage Field and Garden

1851 Census Upper Bottom Farm
    George Worster 33 farmer 130 acres 7 men
1903 Directory Worcester, Edwin farmer Upper Bottom House Farm

 

W

 WEDON HILL FARM


1649 Will of William Child, Weedon Hill, Amersham, yeoman    We  38  46    Wf  38  26
1674 Rental John Bowndon for Weedon Hill Farm  £55
1777 Rental Wedon Hill Farm  J Towne  Rent: £93 15s  209 acres
1783 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
    Wm Drake Esq: Mrs Ann Towne Wedon Hill Farm  £21 2s 8d
1800 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: James Lovett  £21  2s 8d
1831 Voters List Saunders, Thomas, Weedon Hill Farm and lands as occupier Weedon Hill     Farm
1839 Tithe Award  4
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: Thomas Saunders  291 acres
1847 Directory Saunders, Isaac  Wedon Hill
1851 census Wedon Hill farm
    Henry Lazenby 33 Farmer 318 acres 22 men
1903 Directory Archer, charles farmer Wedon Hill Farm


 WHELPLEYS FARM


1661 Bought from Robert Style Deeds 1653, 1661 D/DR/2/34
1674 Rental Tomlins Manor
    Mr Robert Styles for Whelpley Farm by lease    £13 10s
1683 Lease of Whelpleys Farm to Nathaniel Ball of Coleshill    D/DR/1/15
1777 Rental Bottom Farm  Mr Harvey  £59 10s  173 acres
        Whelpleys Farms Mr Harvey £121 0s    96 acres
        Stockings Farm Mr Harvey        164 acres
1783 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
    Owner: Wm Drake  Occ: Thos Harvey  Bottom House Farm £8 12s 6d
                    do     for land in Stockbury Mead  4s 4d
                    do    for late Vauser    £6  2s 6d
1800 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: Thos Harvey    £8 12s 6d
                    do    for land in Stockberry Mead  4s 4d
                    do    for Whelpleys  £6  2s  6d
                    do    for late Adams £4  0s  0d
1839 Tithe Award 869  Bottom & Whelpleys Farm
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: Alfred Coates

 WILMOTS FARM


1734                                D/BASM/2/1

    Sur: Joseph Child of Amersham gent
    Ad: Richard Hill of Rickmansworth husbandman

    All that Messuage or Tenement with appurtenances called or known by the name of     Wilmotts situate and being in the parish of Amersham

    40 acres now in the tenure or occupation of Thomas Ashby and Richard Bryant

1741                                D/BASM/2/1

    Sur: Richard Hill late of Rickmansworth then of Chalfont St Peter husbandman
    Ad: Joseph Hill of Woodside Amersham yeoman

    Wilmotts  40 acres then in occ Joseph Hill


1772    `                            D/BASM/2/2

    Sur: Joseph Hill of Woodside Amersham yeoman
    Ad: John Harding of Amersham gent & Mary his wife

    Wilmotts in occ John Harding

1799 26 July Contract for redemption of land tax        D/LO/6/11/1/6
    Mary Harding of Amersham widow
    Two messuages and several pieces of land
    Two cottages
    In hamlet of Woodside

1812    11 Aug Depositions of John Grace Thomas Barker and Richard Green as to ownership of     Wilmots Farm Woodside Amersham


1816 Rental
    Harding, Mary: For a house and lands thereto belonging at Woodside called Wilmots     formerly Joseph Hills & late John Hardings late in the occ of herself % now of Thomas     Morten & Kender Mason Esq    

    Copyhold Enfranchised under the Amersham Inclosure Act subject to a rent of 5/-


1824 Bryants Map Wilmots (S E Beel House)

1851 Census James Rogers 65 farmer 200 acres 12 men

WOODROW FARM (1) SP 939 960


1739 Rental John Child: In his own occupation
    Tenement called Fosters at Woodrow
    For another tenement next to that
    For a close called Dowse Croft
    For 4 crofts formerly Edward Childs
    For Street Fields
    
    For lands formerly Gillmores        )
    Colliers Croft Coppice Hill Field    )
    and the hedgerows thereto belonging )    )    in all 29 acres
    Orchard Field and the Great orchard    )
    
    For a close of land called Home Field
    For land formerly Russells
    For 3 closes bought of  Tim: Child
    called Home Field Hill Field and
    Orchard Field formerly Biggs



    
1783 Land Tax Mr Wm Child: Mr Wm Child for his own farm Freeholder     £9 8 0

1789 PCC Will William Child of Amersham yeoman

1793 Quit Rental                    D/DR/2/139a
    Woodrow
    Devisees of the late Wm Child (by J Mallers) three years £3  9s 3d

1800 Land Tax Mr J Mallors & Mrs Wm Child Trustees of the late Wm Child:
    Thomas Allen for farm                            £9 8 0

1802 Letter John Croft, Amersham,  to William Drake 13 June 1802

    This is to inform you that I have bought Woodrow Farm at £2,900 and have paid Mr     Mallors £100 in part of payment which I received of Mr Eeles - Mr Marshall has made the     agreement which is inclosed. If Mr Allen leaves Woodrow Farm Mr Compton wishes to     take it if it meats with your approbation

1802    Deeds 1714-1802                    D/DR/2/113
    Messuage in occ Thomas Allen and 3 cottages at woodrow and lands (137a) in Amersham     & Coleshill in Bucks & Herts [field names deed 1802 contains references to grubbing up of     woodland
    From John Turner, Thomas Child and others 1802

1831 Land Tax Drake T T Esq: Butcher James Woodrow Farm        £9 8 0

1833 Voters List Butcher, James, Woodrow, farm and lands as occupier, Woodrow


1839 Tithe Award 703  Woodrow Farm 227 acres
    Owner: T T Drake  Occ: Arthur Butcher

647 Little Chancellors arable  5 2  38
648  Great Chancellors arable 14   17
649  Milestone Piece arable 14    6
650  Great Pipsmore arable 25   21
651  Little Pipsmore arable 20    4
652  Chancellors  arable 13 1 13
686  Meadow allotment grass 31  17 
703  Homestead & Orchard grass 26 
702  Little Orchard grass 29 
704  Common Plot grass  8
705  Street Field grass 13 
707  Walnut Tree Field arable 19  31 
708  High Field arable 26 
710  Collear Croft arable 39 
711  Home Field arable  9 
712  Hill Field arable 18  33 
721  Orchard Field arable 16   4 
722  Further Grounds arable 32 
     ------  --  -  --
     227  3    



1847 Kelly’s Directory Butcher, Arthur Esq Woodrow

1851 CensusWoodrow
    Arthur Butcher 51 farmer 280 acres 18 labourers

1903 Directory Hatch, Joseph Woodrow Farm

1952 Directory Deacon, S.V. Ame 748

 

WOODROW HIGH HOUSE FARM (north of High House)

1692 Ledger

    John Daveney  
    High House Farm by Wickomb Heath

    Stony Field
    Hatch field
    Church Path Close
    Broxhalls
    Knightleys

    £60 p.a.

1698 Ledger    Nash, Richard
    High House Farm (from lady Day 1698) £44 p.a.

n.d.    An account what land Matthew Evans has incroached on Richard Nashe’s Farm at the     High House in Amersham

1739 Rental

    Wm Drake: Joseph Brandon Yearly Rent £100

    Messuage Tenement or Farmhouse called High House

    5 small fields adjoining to the house            10
    Carters Platt                meadow                    2
    Jackmans                                                   5
    Orchard Field                                               6
    Hawkes Close                                              2 1/2
    The Warren                                                 5
    Pound Close                                               3
    Lamb Croft                                                 5
    Sand Croft                                                  8
    Hangerwell                                                10
                                                                   __
                                                                   56 1/2

    The Farm at Amersham in the occupation of Brandon

    One close of meadow adjoining the house
    now in the occupation of Mr Brandon
    called ye White Hart Orchard                  2
    The Field Above                                    4
    Whilden Platt                                        1
    Hither Bentleys                                     5
    2nd Bentleys                                        6
    3rd Bentleys                                         5
    4th Bentleys                                         6
    Old Mead                meadow                 5
    Great Bentleys                                    13
    2 Fields called Whitley                         11
    Clay Bentleys                                       6
    Stoney Bentleys                                   7
    Round Dell                                         10
                                                            __
                                                           72 1/2
                    High House Farm               56
                                                           __
                                                          129
        
    
n.d.      Particulars of farm including tenants and field names  D/DR/2/227
    Joseph Brandon’s Farm called High House

n.d.    Valuation of High House and estate on Wycombe Heath    D/DR/2/252

1756 Appraisal of stock of Thomas Browne at High House farm   D/DR/2/235

1759 Occular survey of the High House Farm and Hardings Farm  D/DR/2/236


1769    5 January    Lease 9 years at £90 10s p.a.            D/DR/1/47

    1) William Drake Esq
    2) Thomas Butcher of North Dean Hughenden yeoman

    High House Farm with cottage in Amersham
    Mop End Farm in Amersham and Little Missenden


1777 Rental High House Farm Thos Butcher  £63 0s 0d  85 acres

1783 Land Tax Wm Drake Esq: Thomas Butcher for the farm         6  0  0
                  Ditto for late Graveneys                                           2  4  0
                  Ditto for Bentleys land                                             1  4  0
                  Wm Drake Esq for house and land                            1  0  0
                                                                                              ______
                                                                                              10 8 0

1800 Land Tax Woodrow [half year sum exonerated]
    Thomas Drake Tyrwhitt Drake Esq: Thomas Butcher for Farm   3  0  0
                  Do late Graveneys                                                1  2  0
                  Do late Bentleys                                                 12  0
                  Do late Wm Drake Esq house and land                 10  0
                                                                                           ______
                                                                                           5  4  0


1839 Tithe Award 632 High House Farm 146 acres
    Owner T T Drake  Occ: Thomas Salter

 591  Glade Field  arable  6  1  23
 595  Nether Croft Field  arable  5  2  37
 592  Green Lane Field  arable  4  0  23
 596  Hither Hangerwell  arable  3  3  38
 626  Jessopps Meadow  grass  3  0  11
 627  North Close  grass  1  1  30
 628  Cottage & meadow  grass  1  3  28
 629  Plot Field  arable  4  3  25
 630  Long Meadow  grass  2  1   8
 631  Barn Field  arable   8  1  38
 632  Home Close homestead & orchard  grass  6  0  39
 633  Warren  arable  5  2   1
 634  Orchard Field  arable  7  1  33
 635  Three Corner Field  arable  5  3  36
 638  Further Hangerwell  arable  4  0  35
 639  Hangerwell  arable  11  2   4
 640  Sand Close  arable  10  0   6
 641  Lamb Croft  grass  2  0  32
 642  Land Croft  arable  4  2  29
 646  Allotment  arable  17  3  26
 687  Milestone Field  arable  12  2  35
 718  Further Hall Field  arable  6  2  5
 719  Nether Croft  arable  8  3  11
     ------  --  -  --
      146 33 



1851 Census  Woodrow
    Thomas Salter 39 farmer

1952 Model Farm Lyne, R.M.


WOODSIDE FARM


1702 20 July                        Catalogue of deeds

    1) Henry Batchelor the elder of Chesham Bois
    2) Henry Batchelor the younger of Woodside in Amersham his son & heir
    Cottage and land

1704  29 May    Will of Timothy Pratt of Amersham yeoman

    Wife Ann:
    All my estate where it hath pleased God to lend me during her natural life that is to say one     house wherein I now dwell at Amersham Woodside and the close thereunto belonging and     also all those three houses in Great Missenden ....

    Daughter Elizabeth
    House and close wherein I now dwell paying to my son Charles £40

    Daughters Mary & Sarah
    3 houses in Great missenden

    Executor wife Ann

    Proved 15 Oct 1705

1738                                    D/BASM 2/1

    Sur: Henry Batchelor the elder of Woodside yeoman

    All that Messuage or tenement and farmhouse situate at woodside aforesaid
    and also all that field or close called Hills
    and also all that field or close called Aberry’s
    and also all that wood called Hill’s Wood

    Henry Batchelor died holding land at yearly rent of £1 2s 7d
    eldest son Henry Batchelor


1739 Quit Rental                         D/BASM/2/14
    Wm Drake Esq: Henry Batchelor: Yearly rent £21 0 0
    To a messuage tenement or farmhouse fields closes pieces and parcells of ground     hereinafter particularly mentioned:

    All those three closes of meadow or pasture ground
        adjoining his farmhouse                 5 acres
    One close called Penn Croft                    2 1/2 acres
    One other piece of Meadow                    2 acres
    One other close of arable land called Great Wide Field        3 acres
    One other close called Middle Wide Field            2 acres
    One other close called Little Wide Field            1 acre
    All which said fields or closes contain alltogether 15 acres and a half
    Belsons Farm now in the occupation of Batchelor in the Parish of Amersham

    Henry Batchelor: In his own possession
    To his house and land at Woodside  11s  3 1/2d

    Sir Thomas Saunders: Wm Ewers
    To a house & land at Woodside formerly Pratts  4d


1740  Court Books                            D/BASM 2/1

    Admission of Henry Batchelor, son & heir of Henry Batchelor the elder of Woodside     yeoman

    Messuage or Tenement called Austins & Pratts

    New Mead
    Old Mead
    Ley orchard
    Hills
    Pratts
    Avery Field
    House Field
    Ley Croft
            ______________________

n.d. Particulars of farms including tenants and field names.... D/DR/2/227
    Henry Batchelor Woodside Farm

1761 11 May    Will of Henry Batchelor of Amersham yeoman        D 222

    Leaves property to daughters Sarah Ewer Elizabeth Batchelor and Hannah Batchelor

            _____________________________


1762  Court Books                        D/BASM 2/1

    Admission of Sarah Ewer & Hannah Batchelor on the death of Henry Batchelor

    Austins & Pratts
        ______________________________

1763 1- 2 Sept                            D 222

    1) John Wells of Chesham husbandman & Hannah his wife late Hannah bachelor and dau  in law and devisee of late Henry Batchelor
    2) Jacob Ewer the younger of Woodside yeoman and Sarah his wife only surviving dau & devisee of Henry Batchelor
    3) Joseph Saunders of Amersham husbandman
        John nash of Amersham cordwainer
    4) John Loveday of Amersham draper

    Recites death of Elizabeth Batchelor dau of Henry Batchelor in his lifetime
    Recites death of Elizabeth Batchelor wife of Henry Batchelor  

    All those three cottages or tenements wherein Thomas Grainger George Watts the elder and George Watts the younger did then dwell at Woodside

    Long Croft        3 1/2 a
    Little Penn        )
    Great Penn        ) 13 a
    Upper Barn Field    )
    Lower Barn Field    ) 10 a
    Upper Meadow    1 a
    Turney Mead        1/2 a
    Stockbury Mead    1/2 a

    late in the tenure or occupation of Henry Batchelor and then of Jacob Ewer

    + land to be surrendered at nest court

    All that Messuage or Tenement called Austins & Pratts situate and being at Woodside

    New Mead
    Home Mead
    Ley Orchard
    Hills        arable & woodland
    Pratts        arable
    Avery Field    arable
    Home Field    arable
    Ley Croft    arable

    58 a 1 r late in the occupation of the said Henry Batchelor and then of the said Jacob Ewer
    
            __________________________________

1764 Court Books                        D/BASM 2/1

    Sur: John Wells & Hannah his wife
    Ad: Jacob Ewer & Sarah his wife

    Austins & Pratts

1777 Wm Drakes Rental Woodside Farm  W Bachelor £21  16 acres

1783 Jacob Ewer: Lee & Smith for farm & tenement    £7  4  6

1784 Measurement of Woodside Farm                D/BASM/2/9/2
    

   Hills   20  3  14  
   Barns  5  1  14  
   Betwixt Barns and the Common  5  0  15  
   Hither Pens  8  1  17  
   Further Pens  5  1   6  
   By Mortons  4  2  21  
   Long Field  8  0  6  
   Avery Field  7  0  39  
   Pratts  6  0  14  
   By the Ricks what is ploughed  0  0  14  
   Long Croft beyond the Common  3  1   0  
   Orchard by the stable  1  0  16  
   Orchard with bit without the gate  1  1  14  
   Orchard by the wheat barn  1  1  30  
   Orchard behind the house  1  1   9  
   Little Meadow  1  2  30  
   Great Meadow  4  1  32  
     --  -  ---  
     85  2  16  
   Woodland   9  0  0  
    --- --  ---   
     94  2  16  
           

 

1800 Land Tax
    Christopher Robinson: House land & wood £7  0  0

1831 Land Tax
    John Stratton: Wm Scott        £7  0  0

1831 Register of Electors
    Stratton, John Thomas, Langley, Bucks Freehold Farm: Woodside Farm



1838 6 -7 Sept                            D 222

    1) John Thomas Stratton & Jane his wife
    2)Charles Arrowsmith
    3)Edward Weller
       William Weller the younger
    4)Thomas Marshall

1839 26 April    Admission of Edward Weller & William Weller


1839 Tithe Award Pratt’s Farm
    Owner: Edward Weller and William Weller the younger  Occ: themselves

    124    Grubbed Ground           arable        4  0  21
    126    Hills                              do         21  2  28
    129    Avery Field                    do           7  2  12
    130    Upper Pratts                  do           6  1  22
    131    Pratts                           do           7  3  24
    132    Pratts                           do           7  0  23
    133    Homestead & orchard   grass         5  2  18
    134    Arable close               arable         6  2  10
    135    Hither Barn Field           do            5  2  24
    136    Furher Barn field           do            5  1  37
    137    Common Plot             grass          1  1  11
    160    Great Penns               arable         8  3  38
    161    Little Penns                 do             7  3  10
    162    Little Meadow             grass          0  2  25
    169    Allotment                 arable          7  1    8
                                                               _______
                                                            104  0 31



1851 Census Woodside Farm
    William Statham 54 Farm bailiff to W Weller 138 acres 14 labourers

1871 Census Edward Weller 27 Landowner


1910 Valuation
    Owner: W & G Weller        94 acres

1924    Denning, Frederick farmer Woodside Farm Rickmansworth Road

1925     Woodside belongs to Mr George Weller (V.C.H.)

1929 Bucks Examiner 15 Nov.

    Woodside Farm, Amersham Common
    50 short horn cattle, viz:
        28 dairy cows
        12 two to three years old heifers
        9 head of Young stock
        1 bull
    6 cart horses
    2 sows with litters
    150 head of poultry
    200 tons of mangolds and swedes
    The straw, chaff, manure

    Messrs W Brown & Co. have received instructions from the executors of the late Geo.     Weller Esq., to sell by auction on the premises above on Thursday Nov 21st 1929   

1930    Weller Estate, 78 acres, purchased by Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Ltd. for     £18,000  “soon to be covered with 535 semi detached houses (priced at £875 upwards) and     51 shops”. London’s Metroplitan Railway p.249

1930 Bucks Examiner 2 May
    Metropolitan Railway Company (sic) Estates Ltd., submitted a plan for the lay out of the     Weller     Estate, Amersham

1930  30 Dec Plan  Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Lt    
    WH Dougworth    R H Powiss Ltd
    New sewers & roads
    Town planning approved Sep. 1st

1931   30 Jan Plan 2155    Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Ltd W H Dongworth
    6 houses type A
    4 houses type B
    6 houses type C
    Weller Estate

    Plan2185 ARDC Weller Road site 24 houses

1931 6 May     Plan 2239 Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Ltd
    Plot 2 Station Road     6.5.31

1931 1 Aug Plan 2315 Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Ltd
    Four houses on plots 2,3,22 & 23 Woodside Road

1931 15 Dec Plan 2402 Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Ltd    W H Dongworth    Marks & Gullett
    House plot 8 The Rise Weller Estate    15.12.31

    Plan 2438 Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Ltd
    2 houses plots 6-7
    2 houses 19-20
    2 houses 29-30
    

1932 For Sale freehold - Metropolitan Railway Country Estates Ltd. (Metroland p 110)

1935     Darvill, Wm Geo forage manure sand & gravel merchant Woodside Farm

1939     Darvill, Wm Geo manure merchant Woodside Farm

1941 Directory
    Darvill, Wm & Son  haulage contractors, Woodside Farm

1948    Amersham RDC bought buildings and 18 acres of land for Civic Centre

1951 Foundation of Amersham & District Community Association

1952 Directory
    Woodside Farm Smiths Upholsterers Man Dir S Smith
    Woodside Farm House J Darvil

1956     16 June Restored barn and stable handed over to Amersham & District Community     Association

1965 Swimming pool commenced

1966-70 Farmhouse demolished

 

This information appears here with the kind permission of Julian Hunt see Julian Hunt's Local History website.

It is data collected in preparation for his publication A History of Amersham

Amersham

Introduction

Church: St Mary

Hundred: Burnham

Poor Law District: Amersham

Size (acres): 6119

Easting & Northing: 496198

Grid Ref SU960980 Click to see map

Names

Names & Places

NameTypeNote
Amersham PARISH St Mary
Agmomdesham NAMES name for Amersham in Domesday Book in 1086
Agmondesham Wodrowe NAMES name for Woodrow in 1520
Agmundisham NAMES name for Amersham in 1600
Amotesham NAMES name for Amersham in 1414
Egmonsham NAMES name for Amersham in 1513
Hakmersham NAMES name for Amersham in 1483
Hamersham NAMES name for Amersham in 1522
Rheins Fm NAMES name for Raan's Farm in 1826
Sharlees NAMES name for Shardeloes in 1625
Wheedon NAMES name for Weedonhill in 1826
Witley Wood NAMES name for Wheatley Wood in 1826
Baptist NON-CONFORMIST Upper Meeting House. First Mentioned: 1669. Formed a separate society in 1675
Baptist NON-CONFORMIST Coleshill Preaching Station. First Mentioned: ?. Recorded 1851 Religious census
Baptist NON-CONFORMIST Lower Meeting House, High Street. First Mentioned: 1740. Seceded from Upper Meeting House
Free Church, undenominational NON-CONFORMIST First Mentioned: 1911
Methodist Chapel NON-CONFORMIST High Street
Plymouth Brethren NON-CONFORMIST First Mentioned: 1935
Quaker NON-CONFORMIST Friends Meeting House, Whielden Street. First Mentioned: 1660
United Reformed Church NON-CONFORMIST Woodside Rd. First Mentioned: 1908
Weslyan NON-CONFORMIST Bury End later Woodside Road. First Mentioned: 1818
Amersham Common PLACE within the parish
Amersham Union Workhouse PLACE the workhouse in Whielden Street
Amersham on the Hill PLACE within the parish
Coleshill PLACE detached part of Hertfordshire
Mantles Green PLACE within the parish
Mop End (Part) PLACE within the parish
Quarrendon (Fm) PLACE within the parish
Shardeloes PLACE house in parish
Weedonhill (Fm) PLACE within the parish
Wheatley Wood PLACE within the parish
Whielden Lane PLACE within the parish
Winchmore Hill (Part) PLACE within the parish
Woodrow PLACE within the parish

 

Population

Population

These population figures are based on the Census results. The boundaries are those used in the particular census which may vary over time..

Note  
1801 2130
1811 2259
1821 2612
1831 2816
1841 3098
1851 3104
1861 3019
1871 2726
1881 2500
1891 2613
1901 2674
1911 3392
1921 4221
1931 6121
1941 N/A
1951 10894
1961 14612
1971 17254
1981 17396
1991 17144

There was no census in 1941.

Records

Records

Parish  Church  Register  Start
Date  
End
Date  
Online
Search  
E-Mail
Search  
Publication  
Amersham   Lower Meeting House   Baptisms   1773   1812   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available
Amersham   St Mary   Baptisms   1561   1901   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
Amersham   St Mary   Marriages   1561   1903   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
Amersham   St Mary   Burials   1561   1904   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
Amersham   Lower Meeting House   Burials   1784   1837   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available

 

Surnames

Surnames

These were extracted from our own records and presented as a guide.

PositionBefore 1700  18th Century  19th Century  Overall Surnames  
1 CHILD CHILD COX CHILD
2 BALL NASH SMITH NASH
3 HARDING HUNT SAUNDERS BALL
4 HILL SHRIMPTON SLADE SMITH
5 NASH MILES ROGERS HILL
6 HARDINGE HATCH SHRIMPTON SAUNDERS
7 CLARKE HOBBS LANE SHRIMPTON
8 HUNT AYRES BALL ROGERS
9 HILLAM SMITH BATSON HUNT
10 CHILDE HILL KEEN COX

 

Churches

Churches

BAPTIST CHURCH (Upper Meeting House)

1669 Archbishop Sheldon’s Questionaire
For Anabaptists, of these we have a meeting at Woodside in David Symson’s house. One Robert Turner, a maltster in the town is often their preacher, and some time Edwards Ednepp, a blacksmith, and sometimes others out of other parishes. Their numbers at a time I know not, these have so met about these two years, which is so long as I have been in the town, and how long before I know not.
1677 Baptist Meeting House built
1706 Bishop Wake’s Episcopal Returns
{Amersham] is a large extent and has bout 200 fanmilies in it
There are many dissenters, especially Anabaptist and Quakers who each have of them a meeting house in it.
1709 Bishop Wake’s Episcopal Returns
Families 400; souls 2,000; dissenters of all kinds, chiefly Anabaptists and Quakers; these meet every Sunday; in number the former of 70, the latter of 90. About one third of the parish are dissenters
1779 Meeting House rebuilt at cost of John Harding
1797 25 April Death of John Harding of Amersham Common
1823 Meeting House passed to seceders from the Lower Meeting House
1944 Meeting House sold. Now private house

BAPTIST CHURCH (Lower Meeting House)

1777 House of Richard Morris in Amersham registered as a meeting house.
1783 Fund opened to erect "a more commodiuos building" on part of Richard Morris's "Great Yard"
1816 Rental Morris, Richard: For a house in the High Street formerly Henry Hobbs
in his own occupation Freehold 3d
1817 Death of Richard Morris
1842 British School built on rear of Baptist Chapel
1980 Interior refitted.

BAPTIST CHURCH (Woodrow)

1713 Upper Meeting House
Baptised Sister Bigg of Woodrow by Brother North and had hands laid on her by Borther Charsley
1725 Dwelling house of John Bigg, sawyer, at Woodenrow in the parish of Amersham licenced as a meeting house
1734 1 May Recited in BAS 1260/38
1) John Bigg of Woodrow husbandman & Ann his wife
2) Philip James of Hemsted Herts Doctor of Divinity
Francis Walker of Princes Risborough gent
Robert Dorsett of Haddingham gent
Joshua Russell of Wapping Middlesex brewer
Samuel Burch junior of London corn factor
John Lane of Bovingdon Herts husbandman
Richard Moor of Coleshill labourer
Joseph Wheeler of Chesham clothworker
John Tims of Chesham bricklayer
Jonas Bovingdon of Woodrow husbandman
Francis Fryer of Chenies husbandman
Lazarus Pratt of Amersham glover
Thomas Honnor of Woodrow shoemaker
All that piece or parcel of ground with appurtenances situate lying and being at Woodrow then or late in the tenure or occupation of the said John Bigg and Ann his wife....for the purpose of erecting building and setting up thereon a tenement edifice or building to be from time to time and at all times during the said term of 800 years used and enjoyed by a Society or Congregation of Protestant Dissenters of which they the said grantees were the chosen trustees as a meeting house or place of public and religious worship ...
1738 Rental Manor of Woodrow
Wm Drake: David Salter
For lands and premises hereafter mentioned:
Dovehouse Mead adjoining to his house 3a
In Church Field, Gospel Field & Meeting House Platt 25a
1741 Entries in the parish registers for burials at Woodrow from this date
1775 Rev Richard Morris came to Woodrow from Lancashire to preach the Baptists cause
1781 5 July BAS 1260/38
1) Thomas Honnor of Beaconsfield Taylor son of Thomas Honnor late of Woodrow shoemaker
2) Simon Verlander of Amersham collector of excise
John Hailey the elder of Amersham plumber & glazier
Nathaniel Palmer of Penn cordwainer
George Rogers of Penn husbandman
James Carter of Penn husbandman
Thomas Parker of Penn cordwainer
1792 Woodrow meeting house abandoned. Congregation joins fellow Particular Baptists in the town.

Description

Extract from the Universal British Directory 1791

Is a borough town. It is 26 miles from London; has a market on Tuesdays; fairs Whitsun-Monday for cattle, 19th of September for ditto and statute. The chief manufactures are lace, which is considerably large chiefly black lace; the sacking manufacture, which is but small and a manufactory for cotton, by Messrs. Morris, Hailey, and Hailey, of all kinds of white cotton goods, by machinery of the newest, and some of it of peculiar, construction.

It lies in a vale between woody hills, near the river Colne, and has a free school, founded in the reign of queen Elizabeth. This little town consists of a long street, in the road from Uxbridge to Buckingham, divided about the middle by a shorter cross street; in the intersection of which stands the church; its town-hall, or market-house, is the handsomest in the county. The living is said to be the best in England. Here are three inns, at which are good accommodations ; the Crown inn, Fowler; the Griffin inn, Loton ; the King's Arms, Morgan. The post-office, at the Crown inn, opens mornings at 7, and shuts at 9 o'clock in the evening. Aylesbury stage coach to London at 10 every day, except Saturday; and 1 o'clock in the afternoon from London every day, except Sunday; stops at the Griffin; inside fare 7s. outside 3s. 6d.- Amersham and Missenden stage coach, from the Crown inn, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, at 8 in the morning; comes in Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, at 5 o'clock in the evening ; fare as above. Waggon Mondays and Thursdays, at noon to London; comes in Wednesdays and Saturdays, at 6 o'clock in the evening. On the hill, rather North of Amersham, is the seat of John Drake, D. D. which commands a fine view of the town; rather beyond the town, West, it the seat of William Drake, Esq. M. P. a noble house, in a fine large pleasant park. It is 3 miles from Amersham to Chesham ; 5 miles to Beaconsfield; 7 miles to High Wycomb; 3 miles to Little Missenden, a small village, at which there is a church, the minister, the Rev. Mr. Anderson. Here is a boarding, school for young ladies, by Mrs. Reed. Five miles from Amersham, is Great Missenden, a large village, in it is a church, the minister, Rev. Mr. Nevell a little beyond this, is the seat of Capt. Backas, one of his majesty's justices of the peace. It is 3 miles from Amersham to St. Giles's Chalfont, a small village, near which is the seat of Sir Hugh Palliser, Bart, and also, not far from hence, is the seat of Henry Gath, Esq. one of his majesty's justices of the Peace; it is also 5 miles from Amersham to St. Peter's Chalfont, a large village, at which is a church, the Rev. Mr. Jonas, minister, who is one of his majesty's justices of the peace.

 

Houses

BEEL HOUSE


1668 Some Account of the Circumstances in the Life of Mary Pannington from her manuscript left for her Family
We sought within a compass of four or five miles, but could find none.... Whilst I was thus distressed, and we had nearly concluded on going to Waltham Abbey, R.T. came to see us, and much bewailed our going out of the country, and having no place near them to return to. At length he asked why we did not buy some little place near them.... He said he had an uncle that had a little place that he would sell for about thirty pounds a year, that stood about a mile from the meeting house in a healthy situation; that there was a house on it, which might be trimmed up, and made habitable for a little expense.... Soon after T.B. came in ; I told him of the proposal made by R.T. He encouraged the thing saying that he had heard there were some rooms in the house that might serve. That night Thomas Elwood came out of Kent, and told me he had much to do to come back without selling my farm at Westbeer. I laid all these things together, and said “I think the best way is to sell Westbeer, and purchase this place which R.T. has mentioned; and with the overplus of money, put the house in a condition to receive us”. Next day I took Ann Bull with me and went on foot to Woodside, to John Humphrey’s house to view it. We came in by Hill’s Lane, through the orchard. The house appeared in such a ruinous condition, so unlikely to be fitted up, that I did not go inside it; and we gave over all thoughts about it, till we were disappointed of a house in Beaconsfield, which my husband was in treaty about. Upon this, we were pressed to go and see the house again, which T.E., H.B. and I did. Whilst I went about the house, they viewed the grounds. In less than half an hour I had the whole thing clearly in my mind, what to pull down, and what to add; and thought it might be done with the overplus money of the sale of Westbeer, that being valued at fifty pounds a year, and this thirty. I was quite recociled to the thing, and willing to treat about it. The day we went to see it, we walked to Chalfont, and took my son Penn’s coach thither, desiring him to make enquiry respecting the title etc. and let me know at Waltham, which he did, and sent us word that the title was clear, but that it was judged fifty pounds too dear...”

1680 Will of Mary Penington leaves property to son John Penington
1682 Death of Mary Penington.
1694 Oct 30 D/CH/A/13
1) John Tanner the elder
John Penington
2) Mary Prince widow
Listed in schedule to 1821 deed D/CH/A/13
1700 1 June
1) John Penington
2) Harbert Springett
William Springett
1708 31 May Will of John Penington of Amersham Woodside
Leaves to executors brother Daniel Wharley and Thomas Elwood of Coleshill in the parish of Amersham “all that messuage or tenement wherein I now dwell called Beale House with the lands appurtenances thereto belonging situate lying and being in the parish of Amersham”
1710 March 8 Death of John Penington. Buried at Jordans: John Penington of the hamlet of Woodside
1710 2 June Probate of Will of John Penington granted to Daniel Wharley and Thomas Elwood.
1713 1 May Death of Thomas Ellwood
1717 29 June
1) Daniel Wharley & Mary his wife
Thomas Pixley and Mary his wife
2) Robert Jackson
Listed in scedule to 1821 deed D/CH/A/13
1722 Amersham poor rate
Captain Jackson for late Peningtons £3.00
1728 Amersham court Rolls
Death of Robert Jackson who held freely messuage and land at Woodside
1730 2 April
1) Simon Aris
2) Peter How
Ann How
Grace Jackson
Bernard Swainson
Frances Swainson
3) Thomas White
4) Robert Attkyns sen
1738 Quit Rent
Foreigns of Amersham.
Thomas White Esq for house and land late Peningtons
1739 Quit Rent
Thos White Esq: in his own possession
House and land formerly Peningtons 1s 10d
1745 Quit Rent
Thomas White Esq for a house and land formerly Peningtons
1748 7 April
1) Thomas White and Margaret his wife
2) Johannah Stephens spinster
3) Philip Harcourt
1761 10 Dec
1) John Harcourt
2) Johannah Stephens
1761 24 Dec
1) Johannah Stephens
2) William Jennings
1763 4 March
1) Harcourt Powell
Anna Maria Poyntz
2) Rev Sepncer Cowpoer
3) Johannah Stephens
4) William Jennings & Harriet his wife
5) George Suthery
1764 10 May
1) George Suthery & Mary his wife
2) Robert Campbell
1768 13 Oct
1) Robert Campbell & Mary his wife
2) Richard woolley
Samuel Stanway
1769 29 June
1) Richard woolley
Samuel Stanway
2) Kender Mason
3) Robert Hassall
1770 Jeffery’s map Bail Hall Campbell Esq.
1783 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
Owner: Kendar Mason Occ: self house & Land £4 7s 4 1/2d
1786 26 July Will of Kendar mason of Hatton Street p of St Andrew Holborn
Estates in London Middlesex, Kent, Surrey, Bucks and plantations in Montserrat Antigua and Dominica.,
1790 Times Index 11 Oct Death of Mr K Mason
1791 Will of Kendar Mason proved 22 March
1791 Amersham Court Roll
Death of Kender Mason who held freely house and land at Woodside late Mrs Stevens
1798 Posse Comitatus Amersham Woodside
Kender Mason Esq 3 horses 1 wagon 1 cart
1816 Rental Kendar Mason Esq
For a capital messuage and land at Woodside formerly Mrs Stevens and late Kendar Mason Esq deceased in his own occ
Freehold 3s 8d
Sold to Henry William Mason Esq
William Lowndes Esq
1817 2 April D/CH/A/10
1) Henry William Pomeroy lately Henry William Mason of Chalfont St Peter Esq
eldest son & heir of Kendar Mason of Hatton Street Esq deceased
2) Kendar Mason of Beel House Amersham Esq
younger son & heir of Kendar Mason of Hatton Street Esq deceased
3) Lord George Henry Cavendish
Allotments on Amersham Common 11a 0r 2p & 9a 3r 32p
1821 13 January D/CH/A/13
1) Langford Lovell
Baijer Otto Baijer
Henry William Pomeroy
2) Henry William Pomeroy
3) Thomas Tyrwhit Drake
4) Lord George Henry Cavendish
(Schedule includes deeds to Beel House 1694-1821)
1824 Bryant’s Map Beel Ho
1829 Henry William Mason of Amersham Esq High Sheriff
1830 Directory Mason, Henry William Esq Beel House
1830 12 Aug
Mary Harriett, daughter of Kender Mason deceased married William Lowndes of The Bury Chesham
1831 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
Henry Mason Esq: Self £28 10s 3 1/2d
1836 August
1) Henry William Mason
2) William Lowndes
Beel House, Cokes farm and other lands

1839 Tithe Award 290-297
Owner: William Lowndes. Occ: Hon Lady Caroline Cavendish

1847 Directory Higham, John Esq Beel House

1883 Directory Milner, Dennis J.P. Beel House, The Common

1903 Directory Milner, Mrs. Beel House, The Common

? Tate & Lyle

1931 Directory Hargreaves, Mrs Arthur S Beel House

1939 Directory Mrs Arthur S Hargreaves, Beel House Amersham Common

1954 2 April
Bell House sold to Dirk Bogarde for £4,000 see Snakes & Ladders

 

SHARDELOES

1479     Thomas Cheyne buys Shardeloes manor for 200 marks
1591     Henry Cheyne & Henry his son sold Shardeloes to Henry Fleetwood
1595     Henry Fleetwood sold Shardeloes to William Tothill
    William Tothill (1557-1626)

1575    Richard Tothill, famous printer who held a patent for printing legal books, buys Manor of Wedon Hill, Amersham
1593    Death of Richard Tothill. Son William Tothill, one of the Six Clerks in Chancery, inherits Wedon Hill Manor
1595    William Tothill purchases Shardeloes from Henry Fleetwood
1624    Committee for Priviledges and Returns accepted case for boroughs of Amersham, Marlow and Wendover to resume sending M.P.s to Parliament. Case brought by William Hakewill of Lincolns Inn who was elected to one of the Amersham seats in 1628.
1624    William Tothill negotiating with Lord Russell for the purchase of the manor of Amersham. Sale particulars 16 May 1624. The 148 freehold tenants would each have a vote.
1625 Francis Drake M.P. for Amersham.
1625    Death of Joane Drake, wife of Francis Drake and dau & coheir of William Tothill of Shardeloes bur at Amersham
1626    Death of William Tothill of Shardeloes bur at Amersham 10 December 1626. Heirs grandson William son of Francis Drake, and dau Catherine Tothill

    Francis Drake (   -1633)

1625 Francis Drake M.P. for Amersham
1625    Death of Joane Drake, wife of Francis Drake and dau & coheir of William Tothill of Shardeloes bur at Amersham
1633    Death of Francis Drake Esq of Esher, Surrey, Gent of Privy Chamber to James I bur at Walton on Thames

    William Drake (1606-1669)

    Chirographer to the Common Pleas

1630     William Drake M.P. for Amersham
1632    Catherine Tothill renounces right to Shardeloes in favour of her nephew William Drake
1637    William Drake of Shardeloes completes the purchase of the manor of Amersham from the Russells
1641     Sir William Drake created a baronet
1649    Sir William Drake in Italy until 1660. Leases 150 acres to James Perrott his steward on condition he provided diet for three people including Sir William's invalid aunt Catherine Tothill
1649     Lease for 3 years at £25 p.a.                    D/DR/1/1

    1) Sir William Drake of Shardeloes
    2) James Perrott of Amersham gent

                                                                           Acres
    Castrupps Close                                                     26
    Brokefield Close           Pasture                                  8
    Church Path Close                                                    7
    Highwood Close             Pasture                              10
    Brocksalls Close                                                       8
    Cherry Tree Close)
    Stony Field        )                                                    17
    Colliers Close                                                        14
    Orchard Field                                                         28
    Bentleyes Close  )
    Whiteleyes Close)        arable in occ William Trego    24
    New Warehouse Meadow         meadow                    28
    The Hopp Garden             moorish ground             1 1/2

    All in  Amersham parish

With barns stables and yards to the capital messuage or tenement called Shardeloes....     for the term of three years.... yearly rent or sum of £25 .... paying therefore for the said term of three years at Shardeloes aforesaid good wholesome and sufficient diet for three such persons as the said Sir William Drake shall there leave and appoint to inhabit.... and in case Mistress Katherine Tothill shall happen to depart this life at any time before the end of the said term and that there shall not be three persons there residing.... Sir William Drake.... will bear and pay all such taxes charges and expenses as he the said James Perrott his executors or assigns shall necessarily expend during the said term in quartering of soldiers and their horses at Shardeloes aforesaid and that the said James Perrott his wife and family may lawfully dwell and inhabit in some convenient part of the mansion house at Shardeloes

1657    Sir William Drake of Shardeloes builds six almshouses at Amersham
1669    Death of Sir William Drake of Shardeloes bur at Amersham Succeeded by nephew William Drake, son of brother Francis Drake of Walton on Thames
    William Drake (    -1690)

1661     William Drake M.P. for Amersham
    Married Elizabeth second dau & heir of Sir William Montague Knt Lord Chief Baron of the Court of Exchequer

1674     Rental
    John Sells hath taken ye several grounds following for 1 year and to enter in June 1675 and     lease it at our lady Day 1676 And then to be in the hands of Sir Wm Drake to let at an     improved rent or to keep them for ye accommodation of his house which he thinks most     convenient that is to say
    Highwood Close
    Church Path Close
    Brocksells
    Orchard Field
    Castrupps not to be ploughed nor broke up
    Middle Warehouse Mead
    Long Orchard

    £41 10s p.a.


1682     Market Hall built by Sir William Drake of Shardeloes
1690     Death of Sir William Drake of Shardeloes bur at Amersham
    Montague Drake (1673-1698)
1692     Ledger
    John Sells
    The new farm by the Fifh Ponds which had been Hayes £34 10s
    By 1697 this was called “Farm by the Pond, called The Canall” and the rent was reduced     to £31 10s but this was never paid in full, as a gift or allowance £17 p.a. was made to     Mrs Selles

1695     Montague Drake M.P. for Amersham

1698 21 July     Inventory of Montague Drake Esq of Shardeloes
                                £
    Stony Field        12 acres of wheat                    42  0 0
    Church Patch Close    9 acres of peas                   9  0 0
    Brookfield        9 acres of barley                        15 15 0
    Little Castrope        6 acres of beans & peas        10 10 0
    Upper Grove        rick of last years peas              6  0  0
    Long Orchard        5 rood of barley                      2  3  0
    Orchard Field        17 acres of oats                    25  5  0
    Wilderness        2 1/2 acres barley                      6  5  0

    Cherry Tree Close and the other field

    Score of weathers                                          13  0  0
    26 ewes & 6 lambs                                          9  0  0
    A cow calf                                                       3  0  0
    At grass 2 mares & 4 geldings                        15  0  0

   
1698     Rent Book                     D/DR2/18q

    Benjamin Peede
    For that farm by the Canal which had been left by John Seller widow 2 quarters £17 0 0
    1698-1705

1851     Census Shadeloes House
    staff only

 



Education

Education

Agmondesham, or Amersham Borough and Parish, including the Hamlet of Coleshill, situate in the County of Hertford (Pop. 3,313.)

Thirty-four Daily Schools, which collectively contain 201 males and 274 females; one of these is an Endowed Classical School, open to all the residents in the parish without restriction ; but the number of children at present on the foundation, are not distinguished from other daily scholars (the master states that full particulars have been furnished to the Commissioners of Charities;) another School is endowed with £20 per annum for writing and arithmetic; 20 boys (each of whom pay 4d. per week), are instructed by this charity; all the other children (the classical scholars excepted), are paid for by their parents.

One Day and Boarding School, wherein 38 males are educated at the expense of their parents.

Four Sunday Schools, in two of which are 133 males and 180 females,who attend the Established Church; these Schools are endowed under the will of the late William Drake, Esq., with £10. 12s. 10d. per annum, and are otherwise supported by voluntary contributions ; the other two are of the Baptist denomination, and supported by contributions, one of which consists of 70 males and 125 females; the other (commenced 1824), of 33 males and 31 females.

Abstract of Education Returns 1833

Manor

AMERSHAM MANOR


1066 Queen Edith 7 1/2 hides

1086 Geoffrey de Mandeville 7 1/2 hides

1200 Earl of Essex secures Charter for a Friday market and a fair on the vigil and day of Nativity of the Virgin

1419 Duchy of Lancaster Rentals and Surveys Bundle 14 No 4

Manor let to John Jourdelay for £40 13s 4d

The site of the manor contained 2 acres, on which was built a hall with two rooms annexed covered with tiles. There were a chapel, a kitchen, dovecot worth 40d., and a sheepfold. Within the ‘Gayndriam’ was a new hall with a room, a stable and a small house with granary. There was another dovecot within a shed, and six woods called Hyswood, Westwod, Hoddesnesswod, Bernegrove, Stokburywod and Braynfordwod

Corn mills let at 100s.

John 1st Earl of Bedford (c1485-1555)


1485 Approximate date of Birth of John Ruseel at Berwick nr Bridport, Dorset

1506 Having travelled and aquired a knowledge for foreign languages, accompanies Archduke Philip of Austria to Court after he was driven into Weymouth in a storm en route from Flanders to Spain

1507 John Russel appointed Gentleman of the Privy Chamber by Henry VII

1520 Attended Henry VIII at Field of the Cloth of Gold

1521 Edward Duke of buckingham executed for treason. Manor of Amersham taken by the Crown

1522 John Russell knighted after the battle of Morlaix at which he lost his right eye.

1526 Married Anne dau of Guy Sapcote heiress to Chenies Manor
and builder of the Russell Chapel at Chenies Church

1526 Amersham granted to Sir John Russell, favourite of Henry VIII

1539 Created Baron Russell of Chenies

1540 Granted Abbey of Tavistock

1550 John Russell granted Abbey of Woburn and created Earl of Bedford

1554 Went to Spain to escort King Philip to England

1555 Death of John Earl of Bedford. Buried at Chenies. Succeeded by son Francis, 2nd Earl of Bedford

Francis 2nd Earl of Bedford (1527-1585)

1555 Francis 2nd Earl of Bedford succeeds to family property

1585 Death of Francis Earl of Bedford. Succeeded by grandson Edward

Edward 3rd Earl of Bedford (1572-1626)


1585 Edward 3rd Earl of Bedford succeeds grandfather

1601 Involvement in Essex's rebellion. Fined. Attempt to raise money by sale of property opposed by heir presumptive Francis

1613 Edward Earl of Bedford secures fresh grant of a market on Tuesday

1618 Francis Lord Russell appointed administrator of Chenies and Amersham estates

1626 Death of Edward 3rd Earl of Bedford. Buried at Chenies.

Francis 4th Earl of Bedford (1593-1641)


1637 Francis Earl of Bedford conveys manor of Amersham to William Drake for £7,500

1641 Francis 4th Earl of Bedford dies of small pox. Buried at Chenies

William Tothill (1557-1626)


1559 Patent to print law books granted to Richard Tothill for life

1575 Richard Tothill, famous printer who held a patent for printing legal books, buys Manor of Wedon Hill, Amersham

1593 Death of Richard Tothill leaving property in Buckinghamshire and Devon and house in Fleet Street. Son William Tothill, one of the Six Clerks in Chancery, inherits Wedon Hill Manor

1595 William Tothill purchases Shardeloes from Henry Fleetwood

1606 Birth of William son of Francis Drake of Esher, Surrey by his wife Joan, daughter of William Tothill

1624 A case was brought before the Committee for Priviledges and Returns of the House of Commons by William Hakewill of Lincoln’s Inn on behalf of the boroughs of Amersham, Wendover and Marlow seeking the restoration of their right to send two representatives to Parliament last excercised in the year 1309. The case was upheld on the grounds that the boroughs had failed to send representatives due to poverty alone and in the election of 1624, William Hakewill and John Crewe were returned for Amersham

1624 William Tothill negotiating with Lord Russell for the purchase of the manor of Amersham. Sale particulars 16 May 1624. The 148 freehold tenants would each have a vote. 25 copyhold tenants.

1625 Francis Drake M.P. for Amersham.

1625 Death of Joane Drake, wife of Francis Drake and dau & coheir of William Tothill of Shardeloes bur at Amersham

1626 Death of William Tothill of Shardeloes bur at Amersham 10 December 1626. Heirs grandson William son of Francis Drake, and dau Catherine Tothill

Francis Drake ( -1633)


1606 Birth of William son of Francis Drake of Esher, Surrey by his wife Joan, daughter of William Tothill

1625 Francis Drake M.P. for Amersham

1625 Death of Joane Drake, wife of Francis Drake and dau & coheir of William Tothill of Shardeloes bur at Amersham

1633 Death of Francis Drake Esq of Esher, Surrey, Gent of Privy Chamber to James I bur at Walton on Thames

William Drake (1606-1669)


bibliophile & classical scholar took little active part in in politics

1606 28 Sept Baptism of William son of Francis Drake of Esher, Surrey by his wife Joan, daughter of William Tothill

1630 William Drake M.P. for Amersham

1632 Catherine Tothill renounces right to Shardeloes in favour of her nephew William Drake

1637 2 May D/DRD/2/22

1) Rt Hon Francis Earl of Bedford
Rt Hon Sir William Russell Kt son & heir apparent

2) William Drake of Shardeloes Amersham Esq

£7,500

All that the lordship or Manor of Amersham .... in the said County of Bucks and in the County of Herts .... and also all those woods coppices and soil of wood .... situate lying and being in the parish of Amersham and Beaconsfield .... and called or known by the several name or names of

Bramford Wood 50 acres
Puddyfoote Spring 30 acres
Hills Wood 30 acres
Hillfield Grove 24 acres
Hillfield Spring 12 acres
Earls Wood 12 acres
Wood adjoining Earls Wood 11 acres
Beeshen Wood 8 acres

And also all those waste grounds .... lying and being in the parishes and hamlets of Amersham and Beaconsfield .... called....

Coltshill Green
Wickham Heath
Westwood
Amersham Heath

Now or late being in the tenure or occ of the Earl of Bedford

And also all that the site capital messuage or manor house of Amersham .... called the Bury together with all and every the houses edifices buildings barns stables dovehouses yards orchards gardens lands tenements meadows leasows pastures feedings and arable lands .... situate lying and being in the town fields parishes and hamlts of Amersham and Beaconsfield .... now or late in the tenure or occupation of Sir Thomas Sanders Kt and Francis Sanders his brother or either of them and to them demised .... by the said Earl by indenture bearing date 12 July in the ninth year of his said majesty (1634) for their lives under the yearly rent of 84 quarters of good sufficient and reasonable mault

Stockings farm in occ Walter son of Henry Tredway gent deceased leased to the said Henry by Edward Earl of Bedford 15 May 16 James I for 90 years or lives of the said Walter Tredway Daniel Readinge and Henry Wyngfield at £9 p.a.

Water mill in Amersham late in the occupation of Tobias Sanders together with a messuage barns stables and outhouses to the said mill adjoining .... with all leasowes pastures and one meadow contaning 3 acres leased by the said Edward Earl of Bedford to said Tobias Sanders, Henry Watkins and Bridgett Watkins 10 Nov 12 Jas I 3 life lease at £6 p.a.

Also messuage and tenement in Amersham in the tenure of Thomas Daye leased by Francis Earl of Bedford to Thomas Daye 26 Nov 5 Chas I 16 yrs at £5 p.a.

Messuage or tenement in the occupation of Henry Greenwood Francis Earl of Bedford to Henry Greenwood 24 Nov 10 Chas I £1 p.a.

1641 Sir William Drake created a baronet

1649 Sir William Drake in Italy until 1660. Leases 150 acres to James Perrott his steward on condition he provided diet for three people including Sir William's invalid aunt Catherine Tothill

1652 Made Chirographer of the Common Pleas (probably exercised by a deputy)

1657 Sir William Drake of Shardeloes builds six almshouses at Amersham

1661 Returned to Parliament forAmersham. Retained seat until his death

1669 Death of Sir William Drake of Shardeloes bur at Amersham Succeeded by nephew William Drake, son of brother Francis Drake of Walton on Thames

William Drake ( -1690)


Married Elizabeth second dau & heir of Sir William Montague Knt Lord Chief Baron of the Court of Exchequer

1661 William Drake M.P. for Amersham (Said to have been “under the command of his father- in-law”) Remained M.P. till death in 1690.

1682 Market Hall built by Sir William Drake of Shardeloes

1690 Death of Sir William Drake of Shardeloes bur at Amersham

Montague Drake (1673-1698)


Married Jane dau and heir of Sir John Garrard 3rd Bart M.P. of Larner, herts

1695 Montague Drake M.P. for Amersham

1698 Death of Montague Drake bur at Amersham

Montague Garrard Drake (1692-1728)


Tory

1692 14 Oct Birth of Montague Garrard Drake, son of Montague Drake of Shardeloes by Jane dau and heir of Sir John Garrard 3rd Bart M.P. of Larner, Herts

1713 M.P. for Amersham till 1722

1719 13 Oct Married Isabella dau and heir of Thomas Marshall of London merchant

1722 M.P. for Buckinghamshire till 1727

1727 M.P. for Amersham 1727 till death in 1728

1728 April Death of Monatague Garrard Drake

William Drake 1723-1796


Tory. No recorded speeches in House of commons

1723 12 May Birth of William son of Montague Garrard Drake by Isabella dau and heir of Thomas Marshall of London merchant

1746 26 Feb Returned as M.P. for Amersham. Served until his death in 1796.

1747 9 Feb Married Elizabeth daughter and heir of John Raworth director of South Sea Co.
£100,000

William Drake 1747-1795


Independent. Frequent speaker in House of Commons

1747 Birth of William son of William Drake by Elizabeth daughter and heir of John Raworth

1768 Represented Amersham until his death in 1795. Reputed by the Public Ledger to be “a very independent, conscientious man, votes on each side but most usually in the minority”. He spoke frequently in a loud voice, generally advocating caution in public expenditure

1795 18 May Death of William Drake. The Gentleman’s Magazine reported that “He has left an immense property partly aquired by marriage, and partly by some collateral branches. Had he lived to inherit that of his father, he would have been one of the richest men in the country”.

 

Pubs

ANGEL INN


1653 25 Nov D/DRD/2/29

1) Susanna Newman one of daus of Mary Newman late of Amersham widow
2) William Drake of Shardeloes Knight
£86
All that messuage or tenement with appurts now used for a victualling house called or known by the name or sign of the Chequer situate and being in Amersham aforesaid adjoining to the messuage or tenement called the Angel on the one side and to a messuage now or late of George Ball on the other side
And also one orchard or meadow platt thereunto adjoining and belonging lying and being in Amersham aforesaid containing by estimation 3 roods be it more or less and now in the tenure of the said George Ball
And also all that other messuage or tenement with appurts situate and being in Amersham aforesaid adjoining to the further end of the said orchard or meadow platt
Endorsed Mrs Newmans conveyance of the Chequer Inn in Whielden Street
1674 Rental
Timothy Sanders for the Angell Inn orchard & meadow £7 0s 0d
1692 Ledger Edward Leared:
House formerly the Angel, ground adjoining to it, and a mead of 6 acres £29
1696 Ledger John Costard
That which was the Angell in Amersham with the Orchard and a part of the
Berry Field £12
1698 Rent Book D/DR/2/18 q
p 49 1698-1702 John Costard
That which was the Angel Inn in Amersham with his orchard and a part of Berry Field
Half years rent £12
1702-1707 William Hopper for the same house and land
1720 8 Feb. Will of William Hopper of Amersham lace buyer
Leaves to son Henry Hopper:
All that Messuage or Tenement with the appurtenances wherein I now dwell together with the outhouses edifices buildings barns stables yards orchards gardens and backsides thereto belonging
And also that close or parcel of arable land called the Berry Field adjoining to the orchard of or belonging to the said messuage contaning by estimation 4 acres .... held by lease of Montague Garrard Drake Esq at the yearly rent of £57
Proved 9 May 1721

 

BELL INN

1706     Elizabeth son of John Hopper victualler bapt
1724     Recognizances Victuallers of Amersham 

            Quarter Sessions
            John Child of Amersham victualler surety for them all including John Hopper

1736                                     D/DR/2/71
        Deeds to messuage in High Street in the occupation of John Hopper called the     Bell adjoining to Copt Hall and forming part of it from Richard Lovett 1736

1736                                         D/DRD/2/74
        Cottage called Copt or Copped Hall two cottages near to it in occ Widow Hill and William Almond and newly erected brick cottage adjoining in occ Lancelot Arnold
1739     Quit Rental
    Henry Marshall Esq Mrs Drake Lancelot Arnold and John Hopper for house    6d
1742     Map 55-56
1753     Alehouse recogniscences  Edward Pearcy 1753-1757

N.B. no further Alehouse recogniscences

 

 BLACK HORSE

1776     John Dean
1780     Faith Dean
1785     John Dean
1798     Posse Comitatus Amersham Woodside
            John Dean Publican
1801     Sarah Dean
1824     Marked on Bryants map
1824     Francis Edge
1839     Tithe 112  Owner: John & William Weller
             Occ: Joseph Putnam
1851     Census  Amersham Common
                Joseph Putman 49 Victualler
1872     Weller: George Line
1880     O.S. Map marked as Black Horse P.H.
1893     Licence transferred to the  Station Hotel

 

Catherine Wheel,

 

1734 D/DR/2/184 Deeds to two messuages one called the Catherine Wheel John Ware to Joshua Parsons

1753 John Foster 1753-1766

1767 Esther Foster widow 1767-1768

 

Chequers Inn, Whielden Street

1653 25 Nov                        D/DRD/2/29

    1) Susanna Newman one of daus of Mary Newman late of Amersham widow
    2) William Drake of Shardeloes Knight

    £86

    All that messuage or tenement with appurts now used for a victualling house called or     known by the name or sign of the Chequer situate and being in Amersham aforesaid     adjoining to the messuage or tenement called the Angel on the one side and to a messuage     now or late of George Ball on the other side
    And also one orchard or meadow platt thereunto adjoining and belonging lying and being in     Amersham aforesaid containing by estimation 3 roods be it more or less and now in the     tenure of the said George Ball
    And also all that other messuage or tenement with appurts situate and being in Amersham     aforesaid adjoining to the further end of the said orchard or meadow platt

    Endorsed Mrs Newmans conveyance of the Chequer Inn in Whielden Street

1692 Rental

    James Nash
    Tenement near the Chequer in Whilding
   
    John Wingfield:
    Farm called Denterhold Land                    £28   0  0
    House called Hell where he dwells by the Saracens Head            £8 10  0
    Chequer alehouse let by him to Webb                 4 10  0

1723 Rental                            D/DR/2/26
    John Webb for the Chequer £2 14s 0d

Chequers Inn, Bury End

 1756 Thomas Boddington
1760 Hannah Boddington
1761 Joseph Deering
1770 Matthew Line
1777  Sun insurance 378703                     11936/254
                                        £
Matthew Line of Amersham co Bucks victualler

On his household goods in his now dwelling house only situate
as aforesaid brick & tiled     45
Utensils & Stock therein       50
                                        ___
                                        95
                __________________

1783 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
    Owner: Mr Wm Child  Occ: Matt Line        11s 0d
1793 John Ayres
1800 Land Tax Amersham Woodside
    Owner: Exec of Wm Child  Occ: John Ayres    11s 0d
1807 Samuel Cawdery
1839 Tithe Award John & William Weller
    433 Thomas Putnam  Chequers Inn & garden
1851 Census Thomas Putnam 54 Innkeeper
1872 Return of Public Houses
    Chequers Over 50 Years Owner Messrs Weller, Amersham
    Occ: Thomas William Axten

 Crown Inn

 1696 Assessment James child for the Crown £1 18s 0d
1708 Deposition of witnesses taken at the house of James Childs called and known by the name and sign of the Crown in Amersham in the 7th year of Queen Anne, 1708
1739 Quit Rental
    Henry Marshall Esq, Mrs Tipping, Mrs Dickson, John Child butcher:
    William Eeles for the Crown Inn and Orchard  Quit Rent 3s 1d
1739                            D/DRD/2/85
    1)  John Child
    2)  Isabella Drake
    Recites division between four daughters of John Cheesman of Amersham innholder     deceased
    1/4 part of Capital messuage called the Crown in occ William Eeles or his assigns
1742 Map 117
1753 Charles Fowler
1755 Charles Fowler the younger
1765 Window Tax 29 lights
1776 Moiety of Crown Inn from John Lawrence        D/DRD/2/85
    Late in tenure of William Eles now of Charles Fowler
1783 Katherine Fowler
1783 Land Tax Amersham Town
    Wm Drake Esq: Katherine Fowler        £2 4s 0d
1784 John Fowler
1789    Account for bricklayers work done for Wm Drake Esq at the Crown Inn by Samuel Maycock
1790 ? William Weller married Katherine Fowler
1792 Directory “.... good accommodation.” [John] Fowler
1798 Posse Comitatus
    John Fowler victualler Amersham Town
    10 horses 2 wagons 3 carts
1824 Charles White Fowler
1830 Directory  Crown, Charles White Fowler (& wine and brandy merchant) High Street
1839 Tithe Award Thomas Tyrwhitt Drake: William Wilson
                            Francis Priest
    530-1 Crown Inn Yard Garden and House
1851 Census Crown Inn  William Wilson 42 innkeeper
1851 Census Crown Inn
    Thomas Bown 46 innkeeper
1872 Public Houses
    Crown Owner T T Drake; Occ: William George
1881 Census  William George 57 victualler & farmer
1891 Directory Collins, Alfred George Crown Hotel High Street
1903 Directory Read, Frederick Crown family & commercial hotel, High Street
1910 Valuation Drake, W W T: Read, Frederick Crown P.H. High street
1928 Drake Sale Catalogue
    Let to Trust Houses Ltd

 

Dove Inn 

1753 William Moerton

1756 William Morton

See Old Griffin

 

Eagle Inn (145 High Street)

1728 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Abraham Benning    0s 6d
1735 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Wm Nevett: Wm Nevett    0s 6d

1743 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Widow Nevett: Widow Nevett    0s 6d

1761 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Eliz & Martha Hobbs: William Woodbridge & Lazarus Pratt    0s 6d

1771Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Martha Hobbs: Wm Woodbridge & Laz Pratt    0s 6d
1783 Land Tax
    Henry Woodbridge: Wm Shrimpton        6s 0d
    Henry Woodbridge: Wm Woodbridge        4s 0d
1785 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Martha Woodbridge: Wm Woodbridge & Wm Shrimpton    0s 6d
1800 Land Tax
    Walker: Herself & William Only        10s 0d
1810 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Late Jane Walker widow: Wm Dimes and Nathaniel Birch late himself & Wm Olney 0s 6d

1831 Land tax
    Daniel Field: self        House        4s 0d
    Mrs Axten: Mary Gwilliam     House        6s 0d
1839 Tithe Award
    486 John & William Weller: Charles Hailey    house & garden
1851 Census William Climpson 29 labourer chair maker
    William Wheeler 31 brewers labourer
1856 Beerhouse licence
1872 Owner: Messrs Weller, Amersham
    Occ: Henry A Rogers
1891 Census The Eagle Beerhouse
    Joseph Aylett 42 publican
1939 Eagle P.H. (Chas MacDonald) High St
1941 Macdonald, Charles beer retailer
1952 The Eagle licensee W Phillips
2000- 2008 Still a pub


Elephant and Castle (97 High Street)

1728 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Ed Child sen or Jos Nash    1s 9 1/2d
    Wid Todd & Mrs Tanner    1s 9 1/2d

1729 Amersham Rectory Court Rolls

    ..... Hunphreys who held freely of the lord of the manor two messuages or tenements now in three tenements in the possession or occupation of Joseph Nash ....Todd widow and Henry Hobbs at 3s 7d rent has alienated the same to Thomas Todd

1735 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Thos Todd Humphreys: Jos Nash John Todd & Rich Wid Todd & Wid Tanner 3s 7d
1743 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Rich Todd: Joseph Nash John Todd & Rich Todd        3s 7d
1761 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Mary Parsons: Jos Nash Jos Climpson & Eliz Todd        3s 7d
1771 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Mary Parsons: Jos Nash Wm Gates & Eliz Todd        3s 7d
1783 Land Tax     Mrs Mary Parsons: James Line        8s 0d
1785 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Mary Parsons: James Line Wm Berry & Thos Humphreys    3s 7d
1792 Directory Priest, Francis grocer
        Priest Francis cordwainer
1800 Land Tax  William Statham: Francis Priest    8s 0d
1810 Amersham Rectory Quit Rental
    Wm Spratley late Wm Statham part of 3s 7d: himself late Francis Priest jun 1s 0d
    John Statham late ditto: William Berry Daniel Hatch late John Salter & Benj Hoare late     Wm Clarke                                2s 7d
1830 Beerhouse licence
1831 Land Tax    William Spratley: self  8s 0d
1847 Directory  Spratley, William beer retailer & butcher, High street
1869 Directory, Dumbarton, Henry butcher high Street
1872 Owner: Wethered Occ: Henry Dumbarton
1883 Directory, Dumbarton, Henry butcher high Street
1903 Directory Dumbarton, William Henry butcher High Street and Childs Farm Woodrow
2000 Still a pub


 

Amersham on the Hill - Developers

This information appears here with the kind permission of Julian Hunt . It is data collected in preparation for his publication A History of Amersham

Register to read more...

Ashley Green

Introduction

Church: St John the Evangelist

Hundred: Burnham

Poor Law District: Amersham

Size (acres):

Easting & Northing: 497205

Grid Ref SP970050 Click to see map

 

Names

Names & Places

NameTypeNote
Ashley Green PARISH St John the Evangelist
Leigh NAMES name for Lye Green in 1766
Grove (Fm) PLACE within the parish
Lye Green PLACE within the parish
Pressmore (Fm) PLACE within the parish
The Thorne PLACE within the parish
Whelpley Hill PLACE within the parish

 


Population

Population

These population figures are based on the Census results. The boundaries are those used in the particular census which may vary over time..

Note  
1801 559
1811 471
1821 N/A
1831 N/A
1841 536
1851 N/A
1861 N/A
1871 N/A
1881 N/A
1891 N/A
1901 N/A
1911 587
1921 595
1931 684
1941 N/A
1951 682
1961 897
1971 1088
1981 940
1991 961

There was no census in 1941.

Records

Records

Parish  Church  Register  Start
Date  
End
Date  
Online
Search  
E-Mail
Search  
Publication  
Ashley Green   St John the Evangelist   Baptisms   1876   1901   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available
Ashley Green   St John the Evangelist   Marriages   1876   1901   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available

Surnames

 

Surnames

These were extracted from our own records and presented as a guide.

PositionBefore 1700  18th Century  19th Century  Overall Surnames  
1 GARDNER SMITH PUDDEPHATT PUDDEPHATT
2 GROVER BATCHELOR REDDING SMITH
3 WETHERED PUDDEPHATT JUDGE REDDING
4 WARE GEARY CHAPMAN BATCHELOR
5 SALE BALDWIN BAIL GARDNER
6 DARVILL WARE WOODS WARE
7 POWELL NASH CHARGE GEARY
8 FOARD WATERTON BROWN JUDGE
9 DELL PUTNAM BRACKLEY BALDWIN
10 TWITCHELL HOW WRIGHT NASH

 

Description

Description

The village of Ashley Green is situated on the B416 road running from Berkhamsted to Chesham. It is one of the typical Chiltern villages, consisting of a long 'green', with a church, post office/ shop, village hall and public house. Unfortunately, it is dissected by the main road.

The soil is clay, in chalk flints, and there are many underground rivers and streams in the area. There are also underground sandstone caves in the village. These are filled with water most of the year round it is supposed, and no one seems to know where the entrance to the caves is, although it is strongly suspected that the entrance is in a small area near the green, now owned by the Water Board. It is also thought that from the caves leads a passageway to Berkhamsted Castle.

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "The Buckinghamshire Village Book" (1987) and reproduced here with their permission


Whelpley

Whelpley Hill

The Romans made a camp on the hill now known as Whelpley Hill, situated high up on the edge of the Chilterns. The Romans moved on and for a while the little place slumbered. Later a little hamlet developed. Through all the changes in the following centuries the little hamlet has survived.

A major change to the village's traditional way of life came with the Second World War. Our menfolk took up arms and uniforms joining the defence volunteers. Evacuees were made welcome and quickly absorbed into village life. Everyone at home was busily involved in first aid classes, fitting gas masks and raising money for the war effort. Then, suddenly, there came the bulldozers carving huge swathes through the standing corn. Unbelievably, we heard that our village was to become part of an airfield. Large areas of concrete were laid criss-crossing the village. What was happening? It looked as if we were to be cut off from the outside world. Barriers were erected at each end of the village but we were told we would be issued with passes to allow us to leave and enter. So the villagers watched and waited.
A few weeks later some American servicemen arrived to prepare the area for operation as a bomber airfield. On a sunny afternoon we watched the arrival of the 'Flying Fortresses' which, after landing, moved to their dispersal points, four of them only fifty yards away from our Village Hall. The local lads soon adopted their favourite plane, for each had a name painted on the side, such as Yankee Doodle, Friday the 13th, Memphis Belle, Johnny Reb and Bad Penny to name but a few. Friendly relations between the crews and villagers soon developed, especially in our Village Hall. We danced and we sang together. It was our boast that we never had any trouble. Preparations went on apace for bombing operations. Each morning at dawn we were awakened by the roar of engines as the aircraft were readied for take off for that day's target. Some did not return, their parking place empty. The village mourned. Many well known faces appeared around the village, Clark Gable, Glen Miller, Bob Hope, James Stewart and William Holden, to name a few.

In September 1944 the bombers left the airfield, their places taken over by the Air Transport Service, whose task it was to return the American servicemen to the U.S.A. In a few months the war ended. The village gradually settled down to its normal quiet ways. Concrete dispersals and runways fell into disuse. The barriers were down. The land was eventually given back to the farmers.

Only the old runways remain, weeds and scrub growing freely between the cracks where so much action had taken place. Is it all in the past or does something still remain? Newcomers to the village walking their dogs in the area have experienced a feeling of a 'presence'. Their animals bristle and howl and sometimes run away home. Their owners cannot account for it. Is there something? Who knows? For many of those airmen leaving this airfield on their deadly missions, it was to be their last contact in this world. It makes one think!

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "The Buckinghamshire Village Book" (1987) and reproduced here with their permission


Notes

Notes

The ecclesiastical parish was formed in 1875 with the building of St John the Evangelist. A building of flint with stone dressings, the church was paid for by Miss Dorrien. The civil parish of Ashley Green was formed out of the civil parish of Chesham on the 1st April 1897. One of the main families in the early period of the parish is the Smith-Dorrien family

Chalfont St Giles

Introduction

Church: St Giles

Hundred: Burnham

Poor Law District: Amersham

Size (acres): 3726

Easting & Northing: 498193

Grid Ref SU980930 Click to see map

Names


Names & Places

NameTypeNote
Chalfont St.Giles PARISH St Giles
Boderellis Close NAMES name for Bottrell's Farm in 1505
Celfunde NAMES name for Chalfont in Domesday Book in 1086
Celfunte NAMES name for Chalfont in Domesday Book in 1086
Chalfounte NAMES name for Chalfont in 1535
Charlfont NAMES name for Charlfont in 1766
Chawfount NAMES name for Chalfont in 1538
Jurdens NAMES name for Jordans in 1766
Row Wood NAMES name for Roughwood Park in 1826
Congregational NON-CONFORMIST First Mentioned: 1669. New building in 1854
Primitive Methodist NON-CONFORMIST First Mentioned: 1835
Quaker NON-CONFORMIST Jordans. First Mentioned: 1669
Austens PLACE within the parish
Boastridge PLACE within the parish
Goldhill PLACE within the parish
Grove (Fm) PLACE within the parish
Jordans PLACE within the parish
Maltmans Green PLACE within the parish
Newland Park PLACE within the parish
Outfield (Fm) PLACE within the parish
Roughwood Park PLACE within the parish
The Vache PLACE within the parish
Three Households PLACE within the parish

 

Population

Population

These population figures are based on the Census results. The boundaries are those used in the particular census which may vary over time..

Note  
1801 762
1811 924
1821 1104
1831 1297
1841 1228
1851 1169
1861 1217
1871 1243
1881 1264
1891 1286
1901 1362
1911 1762
1921 2074
1931 2882
1941 N/A
1951 4381
1961 5927
1971 7118
1981 7004
1991 6601

There was no census in 1941.

Records

Records

Parish  Church  Register  Start
Date  
End
Date  
Online
Search  
E-Mail
Search  
Publication  
Chalfont St Giles   St Giles   Baptisms   1576   1901   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available
Chalfont St Giles   St Giles   Marriages   1576   1910   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available
Chalfont St Giles   St Giles   Burials   1584   1901   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available

 

School

School Records Project

Place   School Type   Name   Start Year   End Year   Indexed   Document Type
    Chalfont St Giles     Infants     Chalfont St Giles     1873     1897         Logbook
    Chalfont St Giles         Chalfont St Giles     1873     1893         Logbook
    Chalfont St Giles         Chalfont St Giles     1873     1890     Yes     Admissions Register
    Chalfont St Giles     Girls     Chalfont St Giles     1881     1898         Logbook
    Chalfont St Giles     Girls     Chalfont St Giles     1890     1921     Yes     Admissions Register
    Chalfont St Giles     Infants     Chalfont St Giles     1890     1908         Admissions Register
    Chalfont St Giles     Boys     Chalfont St Giles     1893     1919         Logbook
    Chalfont St Giles     Infants     Chalfont St Giles     1897     1931     Yes     Logbook
    Chalfont St Giles     Girls     Chalfont St Giles     1899     1906         Logbook
    Chalfont St Giles     boys     Chalfont St Giles     1891     1921         Admissions Register

 

Surnames

Surnames

These were extracted from our own records and presented as a guide.

PositionBefore 1700  18th Century  19th Century  Overall Surnames  
1 KIBBLE HILL CLARK CLARK
2 DUNTON BODDY HEARNE SAUNDERS
3 GRIMSDALE COCK SAUNDERS HILL
4 RUSSELL NASH KEEN WORLEY
5 GRIMSDALL GREEN REED HEARNE
6 NASH SMITH WORLEY KEEN
7 EWER WORLEY EDWARDS REED
8 EVERED KIBBLE CHAPMAN CHAPMAN
9 CRAFFORD CLARK CRAFT CARTER
10 BODY BUCKMASTER CARTER CRAFT

Description

Chalfont St Giles lies about a quarter of a mile from the A413 about three miles south east of Amersham. This distance from the main road has helped to preserve its identity as a village with church, pond and village green surrounded by cottages. It has a recorded Roman road running through it, so has nearly 2,000 years of history. It is, in fact, a fine example of the development of an English village through the ages.

The church was built in Norman times and the dedication to St  Giles may possibly refer to the beechwoods that once covered the surrounding hills, St Giles being the patron saint of woodlands as well as the sick, poor, lepers and cripples. The east window of the church is said to have been damaged by Cromwell's cannon stationed in Stone Meadow while Cromwell himself was lodged at Stone House. The river Misbourne flows through Stone Meadow and local folklore has it that if it stops flowing it foretells disaster.

The principal great house of St Giles is The Vache, a very ancient manor house. The de la Vache's, the owners of the manor may well have brought the name with them from Normandy when they came to England with William the Conqueror and took possession of the estate. The property passed later to Thomas Fleetwood, Master of the Mint to Queen Elizabeth I, and was held by that family until George Fleetwood, one of the judges of Charles I, was evicted from the property after the Restoration in 1660. The Vache estate is now owned and occupied by the British Coal Board.

Between St Giles and St Peters on the north side of the Misbourne valley is another great house, Newlands Park. It was constructed by a Georgian banker, Abraham Newlands, who eventually became Chief Cashier of the Bank of England. At that time all bank notes were signed by hand and since Mr Newland's signature appeared on £5 notes they were popularly known as 'Newlands'.

Chalfont St Giles is principally known for Milton's cottage, although it was never owned by him. When the Plague came to London in 1665 John Milton asked his friend and former pupil, Thomas Ellwood to find him a refuge. Ellwood rented the cottage on Milton's behalf but could not be on hand to welcome Milton and his family to the cottage because he was in prison for being a Quaker. He was released from prison while Milton was still at the cottage and visited him there. Milton is said to have handed him the manuscript of Paradise Lost which he had just completed, asking for his opinion. On returning the manuscript Ellwood said 'Thou has said much here about Paradise lost, but what has thou to say of Paradise found?' Legend relates that after the Plague Milton returned to London and wrote Paradise Regained. The cottage is now the only existing building in which Milton is known to have lived. It was purchased by public subscription in 1887 in honour of Queen Victoria's Jubilee, the Queen heading the list with a donation of £20.
On the hillside above Chalfont St Giles is an obelisk some 60 feet high made of flintstones with the corners strengthened with brick. Although the obelisk itself gives no clue as to why it is there, local legend has it that at this spot King George III, being out hunting and separated from his attendants by a sudden fog, accosted a yokel and asked where he was. The yokel replied that 'Peters is down there and Giles over yonder but this 'ere ain't rightly a place at all'. To which the King replied 'we will make it a place then'. He had the obelisk erected to mark the spot.

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "The Buckinghamshire Village Book" (1987) and reproduced here with their permission

Jordans

About a mile across the fields from Seer Green lies the village of Jordans which takes its name from 'Old Jordans', the farm where Quaker farmers lived in the 17th century.
Jordans village originated when some land became available in 1915-16. A small number of members of the Society of Friends (Quakers) saw an opportunity to establish a village and community where artisans and others could apply their skills for the benefit of the community. Jordans Village Industries was formed, but alas, was not a successful venture and went into voluntary liquidation in 1923.

The village was designed to surround a green; building began in 1919 and commemorative bricks were laid under the first house on February 15 th of that year, and on the nearest Friday to that date, a great supper is held, attended by as many of the tenants as possible. Building continued until 1923, by which time cottages were built round the Green and a number of single houses, all of which are rented on monthly tenancies. The management of the village estate is vested in a committee of 12 members — eight elected by shareholders, three from what is called Tenant Members Committee and one from the Society of Friends.
The Old Jordans farm house was bought by the Society of Friends and is now run as a Guest House and Conference Centre. In the grounds is the Mayflower Barn, reputed to be built of the timbers of the Mayflower which carried the Pilgrim Fathers to America. This barn is used in the summer for concerts and many other events.

On the road to Beaconsfield is the Friends Meeting House, built in 1688. In the graveyard, among many other early Quakers, lies the remains of William Penn, the founder of Pennsylvania.

In the inevitable progress brought about by time, the nature of the village has modified, though much of the old spirit remains, and during the course of the year, many visitors come to visit the historic Meeting House and enjoy the lovely countryside around.

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "The Buckinghamshire Village Book" (1987) and reproduced here with their permission

Notes

Description of Chalfont St Giles from J. J. Sheahan in 1861.

This parish extends over 3,641 acres, and contains 1,217 persons. Rateable value, £4,623. The soil is gravelly with a subsoil of chalk at various depths, and is considered poor. The surface is undulated. The village is situated near the Misbourne stream, in a very secluded spot in a valley, 3.75 miles S.E. from Amersham, 4 miles N.W. from Gerrard's Cross; and 4 miles N.E. from Beaconsfield. A fair for pleasure is held here on the 22nd of June.

William Moreton, Esq., the Rev.Edward Moore, Mrs Priestley, and Mrs Main, are the other principal landowners in the parish.

The Church (St. Giles) stands on very low ground, and the building is an intermixture of flint, brick, and stone, chequered. Its component parts are a nave and chancel, with north and south aisles, and a tower at the west end. The tower is embattled and contains six bells. The building is principally in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles.

Education

Chalfont Saint Giles, Parish (Pop. 1,297)

A small Daily School (commenced 1826) in which 3 males and 6 females are instructed at the expense of their parents

Two Day and Sunday National Schools, attended by 73 males and 57 females
daily, and 78 males and 79 females on Sundays; both are endowed, but the funds being insufficient, they are further supported by voluntary contributions, and small weekly payments from the children. The master's salary is £40 per annum, with a house to reside in; the mistress's £20 with an allowance of £8 for house rent; in addition to which they have annual gratuities of £5, and £4 each, if the state of their respective Schools gives satisfaction to the visitor.

ABSTRACT OF EDUCATION RETURNS, 1833.

Chalfont St Peter

Introduction

Church: St Peter

Hundred: Burnham

Poor Law District: Amersham

Size (acres): 4758

Easting & Northing: 500190

Grid Ref TQ000900 Click to see map

Names

Places

NameTypeNote
Chalfont St.Peter PARISH St Peter
Celfunde NAMES name for Chalfont in Domesday Book in 1086
Celfunte NAMES name for Chalfont in Domesday Book in 1086
Chalfounte NAMES name for Chalfont in 1535
Charlfont NAMES name for Charlfont in 1766
Chawfount NAMES name for Chalfont in 1538
Baptist NON-CONFORMIST Gold Hill. First Mentioned: 1870
Austenwood PLACE within the pariah
Gerrards Cross (Part) PLACE hamlet in parish until 1861
St Paul, Horn Hill PLACE Victorian Chapel of Ease with 40 places.
Stampwell (Fm) PLACE within the parish

 

Population

Population

These population figures are based on the Census results. The boundaries are those used in the particular census which may vary over time..

Note  
1801 1174
1811 1153
1821 1351
1831 1416
1841 1483
1851 1482
1861 1344
1871 1459
1881 1456
1891 1509
1901 1753
1911 2802
1921 4183
1931 6217
1941 N/A
1951 8114
1961 12460
1971 14498
1981 13027
1991 12669

There was no census in 1941.

Records

Records

Parish  Church  Register  Start
Date  
End
Date  
Online
Search  
E-Mail
Search  
Publication  
Chalfont St Peter   St Peter   Baptisms   1539   1901   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available
Chapel of St Peter   Gold Hill   Baptisms   1791   1836   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available
Chalfont St Peter   St Peter   Marriages   1538   1902   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available
Chalfont St Peter   St Peter   Burials   1584   1901   Yes,
click here
 
Yes,
click here
 
Not available

 

Surnames

Surnames

These were extracted from our own records and presented as a guide.

PositionBefore 1700  18th Century  19th Century  Overall Surnames  
1 RANDALL HUNT NEWMAN HUNT
2 TREDWAY WORLEY HUNT NEWMAN
3 BROWNE NEWMAN ALDERMAN HILL
4 DELL SMITH HILL ALDERMAN
5 BUTTERFIELD BENNETT EDWARDS EDWARDS
6 BABBE FRANKLIN HEATH WORLEY
7 SMITH GURNEY LESLIE HATCH
8 EWER NASH DANCER SMITH
9 MUNKE HATCH JONES JONES
10 DOWNES EDWARDS HATCH JOHNSON

 

Description

Chalfont St Peter is a village and parish on the main road, A413, from London to Aylesbury. It lies in a valley on the spur of the Chiltern Hills. The river Misbourne runs through the middle of the main village street, now culverted in the shopping area.

This was an agricultural area, but much has changed since the population exploded. This grew tenfold in 100 years from 1,456 in 1881 to 14,498 in 1981, the latest census year, and certainly much more by 1986.
The village street was very pretty, with some early 16th century buildings of rare and distinctive architecture. These included two very rare brick-built, half-timbered cottages which we called Wingfields.

The parish church of St Peter, in the diocese of Oxford, stands in the centre with the churchyard flanking the road. The church is a red brick and stone building with a fine tower. The present building was re-erected in 1708, the previous one having collapsed.

The Greyhound Inn, a striking red-brick building, had an imposing coach entrance. Sadly, this has been infilled of recent years. This was a stop for the stage coaches in the 18 th and early 19th centuries. The infamous Judge Jeffreys held court here when he lived at The Grange, a short distance away.
The George Inn, a cream washed building, stands facing the parish church. This still retains its coach entrance. A notice over a low door states: 'Duck or Grouse'! Alongside the inn a large modern shopping centre, with car park, has risen from the ruins of the 16th century 'Barrack Yard'.

The Grange is a charming house, built on the site of a former imposing residence and is steeped in history. Here was once the home of the infamous Judge Jeffreys and is now the Holy Cross Convent, a boarding and day school for girls.
The Cottage Hospital, its early title, was built in 1871 and was the gift of the Hibberts of Chalfont Park, with initially six beds and one cot. Now there are over 30 beds and, through the generosity of the public, outpatients and physiotherapy departments, a new X-ray department, day rooms and many other amenities have been added. It is now named The Chalfonts and Gerrards Cross Hospital and serves several parishes.

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "The Buckinghamshire Village Book" (1987) and reproduced here with their permission

Memories

I was born in Chalfont St Peter in 1902 and remember well conditions before the First World War. The milk was delivered to my home by a man who carried a heavy can, with half pint and pint measures suspended inside the can. We came to the door with a jug for twice-daily deliveries and once on Sunday. If we needed milk on Sunday afternoon, we collected it from the farm.
Mr Keys was the postmaster and he also ran a grocery business on the same premises. Mr Mills had a bakery and sold both bread and groceries in his shop. Mr Brown sold groceries, hardware and paraffin oil (no oil to be sold after dark!). Mr Bonsey kept The George and he also had a butcher's shop, now the saloon bar. At the rear of The George was a slaughterhouse where cattle were brought on foot controlled by a dog and a man (or often a boy), from Watford cattle market (ten miles away) and Slough (six miles). Mr Stone also had a bakery and confectioner's shop. Mr Dell was the carrier "to and from London twice per week”, and Mr Bastin “to and from Uxbridge daily”.

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "Buckinghamshire Within Living Memory" (1993) and reproduced here with their permission

Memories

The River Misbourne once flowed over the main road   at one point and was known as 'the splash'. Horses and carts paused here to be washed down. When the first cars came they often got stuck in the splash and the local lads would call out, 'Push you out for a penny, Sir'. At times the houses were flooded and on one occasion the customers were marooned in a pub. A foot-bridge was built and eventually by 1968 the River Misbourne had competely disappeared under a shopping precinct and parking space with flats above.
The London to Aylesbury coach stopped every five miles and as a coaching stop Chalfont St Peter was a village of pubs. Several have been demolished in the last twenty years, but the Greyhound, visited once by Sir Winston Churchill on his way to Chequers from No 10 still stands. A few years ago a grand archway through which the coach and horses passed, was blocked up and made into a dining room.

When the first buses came, their route could be changed without warning because the driver went wherever the majority of passengers wished and stopped at their own front gates. The fare to London was- half a crown.

There have always been gravel pits in the area, many now filled in and built on. A local pig farmer was  distressed when because of swine fever his animals had to be destroyed, but while digging graves for them he found gravel and made more money than he ever had on pigs.

Phyllis Warden, Chalfont St Peter

Extracted from 'A Pattern Hundreds' (1975) and reproduced with the kind permission of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes

Horn Hill


Horn Hill was meant to have been a model village and, where the Hall now stands, there were at the turn of the century, six picturesque cottages but without 'mod-cons'. Mr H. D. Harben, the then Chairman of the Prudential, bought Newland Park and much of the adjoining land, farms, and above-mentioned six cottages.
On inspecting his agent's book, he saw that one cottage was rented by someone and found it to be a young man who used it in the week-nights for a games and reading room for the youth of the locality and, on Sundays, for a Sunday School and evening service. He refused to take more rent and said that he would build a suitable building for the Sunday work and a recreation room. It meant the demolition of the cottages, and, firstly, he built 12 cottages in three blocks of four higher up in Roberts Lane, and as a temporary measure, let the young man have rent-free a cottage he owned up Rickmansworth Lane. He intended making a model village of the whole area, but alas he died in 1910 before completion of the Hall. The Village Hall was being built on the site where had stood the six cottages opposite the small church - St Paul's - a Chapel of Ease.

Mr Eric Harben, his son, had the Hall completed and he opened it in 1911. Mr Harben was a barrister and he drew up the rules for the running of the Hall. Unfortunately, the First World War made it impossible for Mr Harben to carry on living at Newland Park, so that the model village his father had envisaged did not come to pass. So many people have wondered why such an outstanding building is found in such a rural setting, and one wonders what Horn Hill would have been like had Mr Henry Harben lived and had fulfilled his dream. The first 12 cottages were the beginning of the dream, and the Village Hall was and is a monument to his memory.

Article written by members of the Buckinghamshire Federation of Women's Institutes for the publication "The Buckinghamshire Village Book" (1987) and reproduced here with their permission

Notes

Description of Chalfont St Peter from J. J. Sheahan, 1861.

This parish is about thirteen miles in compass, and contains 4,717 acres. Population, 1343; rateable value, £5,751. The soil consists of chalk and brick earth, interspersed with numerous flints. The Misse, or Misbourne stream runs through the parish, about three miles from north to south. A great portion of Gerrard's Cross Common is in this parish. The village is large and situated 5 miles N.E. from Beaconsfield, 5 miles S.S.E. from Amersham, and 5.5 miles N.N.E. from Uxbridge. There is a Fair for pedlary and toys on the 4th and 5th of September. At Durrants Heath is an earthenware pottery, and brick and tile manufactory.

Chalfont Park is on the verge of the turnpike road to London, and is a fine and extensive demesne, undulated and beautifully timbered. Here is an ash said to be the largest and most ancient ash-tree in England. It is 25 feet in circumference.

Education


Chalfont Saint Peter's, Parish (Pop. 1,416)

Two Daily Schools, in which about 24 males and 30 females are instructed, at the expense of their parents.

One Day and Sunday National School (commenced 1829), which is daily attended by 60 males and 36 females, and by 70 males and 45 females on Sundays; supported by subscription.

One Sunday School, of the Baptist denomination, in which 36 males and 45 females are gratuitously instructed.

ABSTRACT OF EDUCATION RETURNS, 1833.

 

Notes on Chartridge

Description of Chartridge.

 

Register to read more...

Additional information